Published On : Mon, Sep 29th, 2014

District Administration geared up for smooth, peaceful conduct of Assembly poll: Collector

Collector Abhishek krushna
The Nagpur District Administration has geared up for October 15 Assembly elections with all necessary arrangements in place for smooth and peaceful voting. In this background, the District Collector Abhishek Krishna, who is also the District Electoral Officer, threw a light on the preparations the Administration has made for the election while talking to Hansraj Raut, Information Assistant, Media Center, Collectorate, Nagpur.

The preparations:

In all the 12 Assembly constituencies of city and rural areas in Nagpur District, designated officials and employees have been appointed. Regular review meetings between election officials and Expenditure Observers are being held for conducting election work in appropriate manner. All the concerned officials have been directed to provide all required facilities at all the polling centres and updated lists of voters have been published with distribution of photo identity cards under process. Efforts are being made to achieve 100 percent voting and subsequently citizens are being appealed to exercise their right to vote in large numbers, said the District Electoral Officer.

The number of voters:

The total number of voters registered till July 31, 2014 in all the 12 Assembly constituencies of district stands at 3657012 out of which the number of male voters is 1904909 while female voters constitute 1752059. There are 44 transgender voters also. A total of 4052 polling centers have been set up across the 12 constituencies, said Abhishek Krishna.

Officials and employees:

The District Collector further said that a total of 23854 officials and employees have been appointed for election work. Out of these, 16484 officials and employees have been assigned the election work at polling centres and 3297 have been kept in reserve. Similarly, 4073 officials and employees are working in various squads and committees overseeing various election related aspects such as Model Code of Conduct, Expendiure, Videography etc etc.

Law and order:

For maintaining law and order, the sensitive and very sensitive polling centers have been identified after a thorough inspection and review of situation. Adequate security arrangements are being made and a large number of police personnel would be deployed at these polling centers for ensuring smooth and peaceful polling process. Regular patrolling will be done by police in the constituencies. Following are the details of police deployment:
• Number of police officials and personnel: 7421. (City – 4025 and Rural – 3396).
• State Reserve Police Force: 10 Platoons.
• Home Guards: 1000

Election programme:

The Notification of election was issued and published on September 20. The last date of filing nominations is September 27. Nomination papers will be scrutinized till September 29 and the date for withdrawal of form is September 29. Voting will be held on October 15 and counting of votes will take place on October 19. The poll process will conclude on October 22, 2014, said the District Electoral Officer Abhishek Krishna.

“Various measures are being initiated to increase voting percentage like mass awareness campaigns, erection of hoardings, posters, banners with messages on importance of exercising voting rights, wide publicity through Media Centre set up in Collectorate in newspapers, Doordarshan, Akashwani, local cable channels, social media networking etc. Citizens should exercise their franchise by voting in large numbers to strengthen the democratic system,” asserted Abhishek Krishna.

“Similarly, a close watch is being kept through various channels for controlling practice of paid news and other malpractices indulged in by candidates. The Expenditure Observers are appointed by Election Commission of India and they are doing their job by keeping a tab on expenditures done by candidates. Overall all the arrangements and preparations are being made to ensure smooth and peaceful conduct of October 15 Assembly elections and counting of votes,” said Abhishek Krishna.