Published On : Sun, Sep 21st, 2014

Déjà vu: RTMNU’s 100th Convocation function: Striking similarities of the date and dignitaries

Nagpur: It has often been remarked that “History repeats itself.” Historic recurrence is the repetition of similar events in history. The coming September 26 will witness the striking similarities of the day and dignitary when Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj Nagpur University (RTMNU) organizes 100th Convocation Ceremony. The 30th Convocation Ceremony was celebrated on September 26, 1950 and the chief guest was the first President of India Dr Rajendra Prasad. And, now exactly after 64 years, the 100th Convocation Ceremony will be held on September 26 and the former President of India Dr APJ Abdul Kalam will grace the function as the chief guest.

Even though the 100th Convocation of RTMNU is being attended by former President Dr Kalam and the 30th Convocation was attended by the then President Rajendra Prasad, the grace between the two is similar and unparallel as well. For the history’s sake, the then President Gyani Zail Singh had attended the RTMNU’s 73rd Convocation on February 8, 1985.

Visit cancelled:


It may be recalled that due to the contentious issue of 1378 degrees the 100th Convocation Ceremony, which was scheduled to be held on November 16, 2013, could not be held as President of India Pranab Mukherjee refused to be chief guest and cancelled the visit. The affected students belonged to the tainted 250 colleges that had not a single regular teacher on their roll. The last minute cancellation of visit by President Mukherjee had left the university in the dock.

Several bigwigs graced the ceremony:

Top guns among those who had attended Nagpur University’s Convocations in the past included the first Prime Minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru, the then Home Minister Vallabhbhai Patel, the last Governor General of India C Rajgopalchari, eminent poetess and politician Dr Sarojini Naidu, Mysore’s Diwan M Mirza Ismail, prominent businessman Homi Modi, and other distinguished national personalities.

First Convocation held on November 28, 1924:

The first Convocation of Nagpur University was organized on November 28, 1924 and was graced by the then University’s Chancellor Frank Sleigh. In the University’s history, two convocations were held in a single year 20 times and three convocations two times.

This year on September 26:

The latest Convocation of Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj Nagpur University will be held on September 26 at 2.30 pm in Law College’s Rao Bahadur D Laxminarayan Playground.