| | Contact: 8407908145 |
    Published On : Thu, Jun 29th, 2017
    Sports News | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

    City’s 4 girls, 2 boys in State team for Youth National Basketball Championship

    Nagpur: Four girls and two boys from city have made it to final 12 of Maharashtra State Youth Basketball teams to participate in Youth National Basketball Championship to be held at Gacchibawali Stadium in Hyderabad (Telangana) from July 1 to 8, 2017.

    In the girls team, Siya Deodhar, Purvi Mahalle, Abha Lad and Devashree Ambegaokar have been selected in final 12 players declared here on Thursday. In the boys team, Siddhesh Kulkarni and Sharvil Bomanwar got selected to represent the state teams. Shatrughna Gokhale will be the Head Coach of girls team. The coaching camp for Girls was conducted at Nagpur while Boys camp was held at Mumbai.

    Both boys and girls team of Nagpur performed excellently and finished second in the Youth State Championship held at Pune. In league matches of Boys Section, Nagpur boys beat Satara (74-72), Pune (68-41), Mumbai South West (72-59). In quarter finals, boys beat Chandrapur (72-59). In Semi-finals they beat Mumbai South West (99-72) and lost to Mumbai North in the finals (80-74).

    In the league matches, Nagpur Girls beat Mumbai Central (46-6), Satara (61-43) and Mumbai North (50-30). In quarters, they defeated Aurangabad (47-39). In Semi-finals, city girls beat Dhule (59-39) but lost to Mumbai North in the finals in a close encounter (67-65).

    Dy Director Sports, Nagpur Division, Subhash Rewarkar and District Sports Officer Nagpur Avinash Pund met the players at Indoor Stadium and extended his best wishes for the Nationals.

    The Girls team is leaving tonight from Nagpur while Boys team will leave from Mumbai tonight as well.

    Girls Team:
    Siya Deodhar, Purvi Mahalle, Abha Lad, Devashree Ambegaonkar (all Nagpur) Suzane Pinto, Tanisha Malvankar, Vaibhavi Tawade, Orya Maskerinhas (All Mumbai North), Sanika Shinkar (Dhule), Sudhiksha Kulkarni (Pune), Khushi Dongre (Aurangabad), Shruti Bhosle (Satara). Head Coach: Shatrughna Gokhale. Coach: Jayant Deshmukh. Manager: Sayyad Jameer

    Boys Team: Dilip Harijan, Kamlesh Rajbhor, Arjun Yadav (All Mumbai North), Siddhesh Kulkarni, Sharvil Bomanwar (Nagpur), Pritish Kokate, Om Pawar (Pune), Hazik Baig (Mumbai South West), Aftab Sayyad (Beed), Tanay Thatte (Satara), Bilal Khan (Mumbai South East), Sankalp Panda (Mumbai Central). Head Coach : Nasir Ansari. Coach: Yogesh Jagtap. Manager: Naved Munshi.

    Stay Updated : Download Our App
    Mo. 8407908145