Published On : Fri, Nov 15th, 2013

BJP aspirants in race for Assembly poll tickets resorting to all tricks of trade to be ahead

BJPNagpur News.

Even before the bugle of Assembly elections in Maharashtra has not been sounded, the political atmosphere in Nagpur, which consists of six Assembly constituencies, has started to blow hot blow cold. The constituencies are North Nagpur, South Nagpur, East Nagpur, West Nagpur, South-West Nagpur, and Central Nagpur.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders have put their heads down and making strategies, calculating equations, and coming clear for the tickets with facts and figures under their sleeves. And the game of chess comes handy to checkmate the rivals within party as it is a question of Assembly ticket. “Everything is fair in war and in politics” is the apt slogan for politicians.


The policy of “Quid Pro Quo” (A favour or advantage granted in exchange of something precious) has gone abuzz and the aspirants of tickets for Assembly elections are in bartering mode. Lok Sabha poll victory for a big leader in exchange of Assembly tickets. In simple words: Pressure tactics. And the big leader has assured of the same, orally, thus pushing the ticket aspirants to the campaign front with all gears for his victory in Lok Sabha election, sources said.

EAST NAGPUR: The race is between the present MLA Krishna Khopde, Corporator Anil Dhawde, and Corporator Chetana Tank. According to die-hard BJP workers, the present MLA has totally failed on all fronts. He was seen raising the issues of his choice only which, according to workers, were not so beneficial to party itself. The BJP might think of changing the candidate in this segment of Assembly.  The BJP Corporator Anil Dhawde had fought the elections from East Nagpur against the Congress heavyweight Satish Chaturvedi. Though he lost the election but had made Chaturvedi run for every penny in order to win the Assembly poll. 

WEST NAGPUR: The contest for BJP ticket for this constituency is between the present MLA Sudhakar Deshmukh, Sandeep Joshi, Mayatai Iwnate, Sunil Agarwal, and others. Sandeep Joshi is likely to be fielded for the upcoming poll for MLC (Graduates Constituency). Moreover, the present MLA Sudhakar Deshmukh has no grip over the constituency following failing to the expectations. That is exactly the reason there is a long queue of second rung leaders seeking ticket for the Assembly polls from this segment. 

NORTH NAGPUR: This constituency has so far proved waterloo for any BJP candidate as they were forced to lick the dusts by the powerful Congress candidate. However, Bhola Badhel had given a very tough fight to the Congress candidate. This time, former Mayor Rajesh Tambe, Prabhakar Yeole, J D Jambhulkar, and others are turning tables for the ticket. Jambhulkar is receiving an active support from husband of a former Mayor and an Adivasi leader. 

SOUTH NAGPUR: The constituency is reserved for BJP’s alliance partner Shiv Sena. However, if the Shiv Sena candidate is of BJP’s choice or friend, the party supports the candidate otherwise deserts him to his luck.

CENTRAL NAGPUR: The constituency, dominated by Muslim and Halba communities, saw BJP’s Kamal blossoming after several years. However, the party MLA could not achieve any worthwhile till today. If BJP thinks of changing the candidate, and which is on the cards, then Dayashankar Tiwari, Pravin Datke, Pravin Bhisikar, Tanjim Samiti’s President Quadir and others are in line. They are not only in line but have got activated for bagging the ticket. 

SOUTH-WEST NAGPUR: The constituency is fortress of BJP. No candidate of other party is prepared to contest from this segment even under a common Opposition banner. The reason is very less chance of victory. If the present BJP MLA Devendra Fadnavis decides not to contest the Assembly poll then the NMC Standing Committee Chairman Avinash Thakre is capable to demand ticket.

It may be recalled, all these above mentioned leaders are the main aspirants for the tickets. Apart from these leaders, there are dozens of more aspirants who hope for victory of their leader in the Lok Sabha election by striving hard and then staking a claim for the Assembly ticket.