Published On : Wed, Apr 15th, 2015

Bandra East bypoll:Narayan Rane loses with a huge margin

mahabypolls_smithaliveMumbai/Nagpur: Shiv Sena has won the all important Bandra East bypoll in Maharashtra by a thunderous margin. Congress leader Narayan Rane, who was taking on his former party Shiv Sena, lost with over 19,000 votes.

According to the final tally, Shiv Sena won 52711 votes, Congress bagged 33703 votes and MIM won 15050 votes.

The Bandra East bye-election was crucial for Rane who had lost the state Assembly polls in 2014 from his home turf Sindhudurg district in coastal Konkan.

The bypoll was necessitated by the death of Sena MLA Prakash Sawant. Sena has fielded Sawant’s widow Trupti. Bandra East constituency in suburban Mumbai houses the residence of Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, ‘Matoshree’.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s MIM was also in the fray eyeing the sizeable Muslim votes. Rehbar Khan is contesting the polls for MIM. After round 11 of counting, Shiv Sena has got 37528 votes, Rane has bagged 19812 votes and Khan has got 5867 votes.

A total of 10 candidates were in the fray in Bandra East and 9 in Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal constituency. The bypolls were held on April 11.