Published On : Wed, Apr 15th, 2015

Bandra East by poll: Rane trails

Mumbai/Nagpur: Congress heavyweight Narayan Rane was trailing from Shiv Sena’s Trupti Sawant after twelth round of counting in Bandra East bypoll.

Shiv Sena’s Trupti Sawant got over 40285 votes, while Congress heavyweight Narayan Rane got 21672 votes followed by MIM’s 6161 votes.

The fight has become triangular with All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) putting up Rahbar Khan.

For Rane, this is a make-or-break contest as a defeat would mar his chances of remaining at the centrestage of Maharashtra politics.

Bypoll is being held in Bandra E constituency following the death of Shiv Sena’s legislator Prakash Sawant.

NCP candidate Suman Patil, the widow of party stalwart RR Patil, was leading with over 97000 votes in Tasgaon-Kavthe Mahankal bypoll.

She was ahead of BJP rebel and independent candidate Swapnil Patil.
Suman Patil was polled 109545 votes, while swapnil Patil got 12667 votes.

Counting of votes for the Assembly byelections to Bandra (East) in suburban Mumbai and Tasgaon Kavthe-Mahankal in Sangli district began on Wednesday morning.

A total of 10 candidates are in the fray in Bandra and nine in Tasgaon.