Published On : Thu, Mar 1st, 2018

Anjuman Bag Hislop Trophy

Nagpur: Anjuman College of Engineering & Technology succeeded in staying more focused than hosts Hislop College, giving of their best when it mattered the most and went on to bag the Rev. Stephen Hislop trophy as the curtains wrung down on the 20th edition of this annual inter-college football tournament on Wednesday. After a goal-bereft first half it was Rizwan Ahmed who took advantage of a goalmouthmelee and shot a low-right-footer to Hislop College’s goal-keeper Deepesh Burrewar’s left to the base of the post in the 44th minute. Giftson Saji squared a right-wing cross to make it 2-0 in the 49th minute, right-footing it from the top of the goal-area, once again in a goal mouth me lee.

Anjuman CET’s Rizwal Ahmed (18thmin)and Mirza Qadir(49th min) saw the yellow card. The need for a properly qualified referee was felt since both teams showed little regard for SiddharthKale,knowingnoharm could come to them if they challenge his decisions. An incident each from both colleges related to officiating almost brought the final to a grinding halt. In the prize distribution ceremony,Dr.Kalpana Jadhav,Director, Department of Physical Education, RTMNU and also the organising secretary of this meet,handed over the Rev.Stephen Hislop Memorial Trophy to Anjuman CET which was received by HoD Sports,ACET, Prof. Zakir Khan. Ishwar Deshmukh College of Physical Education bagged the Fair Play Trophy. Dr. Amit Kanwar was the convenor of the tournament. He was assisted by Prof. Sanjay Ramteke and Anil Wadatkar. Dr. Dipti Christianis the patron of the tournament.

: Anjuman College of Engineering & Technology:SayyedNizamuddin, Sagar Mishra, Akhfaque, Rizwan Ahmed, Giftson Saji, Shahnawaz Ali, Gufran Ansari, Asad Rayyan, Mirza Qadir Baig, Samiuddin Qureshi, Danish Faisal, Abuzar Ahmed, Arnold Karkatti, Mangesh Yadurvanshi, Areef Ahmad, ShadabPervez, Huzaifa. Teacher-in-charge: Zakir Khan