Published On : Wed, Oct 1st, 2014

54 candidates in Nagpur District withdraw from Assembly poll contest on the last day

A total of 54 candidates in Nagpur District withdrew their nominations from Assembly election on the last day of withdrawal on Wednesday (October 1). The candidates belonged to various smaller political parties and as independents. Nagpur District comprises of 12 constituencies with six of them in Nagpur city itself.

The maximum– eight – candidates withdrew their candidature from Umred constituency alone followed by seven candidates each in East and West Nagpur constituencies. Six candidates each from three segments – Katol, North Nagpur and Kamptee – backtracked while five candidates from Central Nagpur seat withdrew their nomination papers. Candidates from other constituencies who withdrew their candidature include Saoner – 1, Hingna – 2, South-West Nagpur – 2, and Ramtek – 4. Information on candidates withdrawing their papers from South Nagpur constituency was not provided by District Administration till filing of this report.

Name of candidates
Name of candidates 2