Published On : Mon, Jun 5th, 2017

4 from Nagpur among 14 sworn in as Bombay HC addl judges

As many as 4 legal dignitaries who are either serving in Nagpur or hail from the city were included among the 14 judged who were sworn in as additional judges of the Bombay High Court on Monday. With the fresh recruitment the High Court’s number of total additional judges now stands at 75.

These judges include advocate general Rohit Deo and government pleader at Nagpur bench Bharti Dangre. Besides Deo and Dangre, Manish Pitale, a lawyer practicing at the Supreme Court and Prithviraj Chavan, who was working as principal judge at Pune, hail from Nagpur.

The new appointees were sworn in by Chief Justice Manjula Chellur in the presence of all other judges of the High Court.

The 14 new judges include Riyaz Chagla, grandson of M C Chagla, the first permanent Indian Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court after Independence, and five others from the Bar, and eight elevated from the subordinate judiciary.

Of the 14, two are woman judges – Vibha Kankanwadi and Bharti Dangre.

The sanctioned strength of judges in the Bombay High Court is 90.

Apart from Riyaz Chagla, the new judges are Sunil Kotwal, Arun Upadhye, Mangesh Patil, Arun Dhavale, Prithviraj Chavan, Murlidhar Giratkar and Sopan Gavhane from the district judiciary.

Patil was the HC Registrar General till his elevation.