Published On : Wed, Jan 9th, 2013

Ruby Sporting Club, Navniketan win on Day 3 of Vayu Sena Challenge Cup 2013

Nagpur Today : Two matches were played today:-First was Ruby Sporting Club Vs Indian Air Force at Maintenance Command Cricket Ground  (Vayu Sena Nagar).and Second was Navaniketan Cricket Club Vs Reshimbagh Gymkhana at Ambajhari Cricket Ground.

Report of 1st Match- Ruby Sporting Club Vs Indian Air Force

Indian Air Force team won the toss and elected to field first. Put in to bat, Ruby Sporting Club Lost its first wickets on 05 runs on 5th ball of the 1st over of D S Atri. Thereafter, Ruby Sporting Club lost its 2nd, 3rd & 4th wicket at 41 runs, 63 runs and 69 runs respectively. Amit Paunikar and Catain Gaurav Upadhyay consolidate the inning of Ruby Sporting Club and added 81 runs for 5th wicket partnership in 119 balls. Amit Paunikar made 38 runs in 50 balls with 5 fours.

Captain Gaurav Upadhyay scored 54 runs in 70 balls with 3 fours and 2 Sixes. Azhar Sheikh also made 50 runs each in 83 balls with three fours. Gaurav Bhalerao made quick 50* runs in just 43 balls in the end to project 243 runs total for the loss of 7 wickets.      For Indian Air Force, Abhishek Sakuja took 4 wickets in his 10 overs for 42 runs. DS Atri & Azharruddin Khan took 01 wicket each.

In reply, Indian Air Force team lost wickets at regular intervals before disciplined bowling of Ruby Sporting Club. Captain Gaurav Upahyay and Azhar Sheikh took 04 wickets each for 11 runs and 30 runs respectively. Nitesh Chaudhary also took one wicket for 20 runs in his 5 overs.  IAF team could not produce any match winning partnership. The highest partnership was of 34 runs for the 2nd wicket between Varun Rajan and Arvind Solanki and they scored 21 and 26 runs respectively. Mumtaz Qadir was the top scorer with 34 runs in 40 balls. Indian Air Force team was all out on 155 runs in 37.3 overs.

Players of Ruby Sporting Club gave a very impressive performance in both batting and bowling.

Result: Ruby Sporting Club won the match by 88 runs.

Man of the match:    Gaurav Upadhyay of Ruby Sporting Club for his 54 runs and 04 wickets for just 11 runs in 05 overs.

Report of 2nd Match-  Navaniketan Cricket Club Vs Reshimbagh Gymkhana

 Navniketan Cricket Club won the toss and elected to field first. Put in to bat, Reshimbagh Gymkhana lost its first wicket of Anup Fulper without opening the team score on very first ball of the match bowled by Vijay Malik. Thereafter, Reshimbagh lost its 2nd, 3rd &4th wicket at 17 runs, 33 runs and 40 runs respectively. Zeeshan Patel and Sameer yeole consolidate the inning of Reshimbagh Gymkhana and added 95 runs for 5th wicket partnership in 156 balls.

At 135 runs, Reshimbagh lost the wicket of Zeesan Patel. Thereafter, wickets fell at regular intervals and the whole team was bold out on 191 runs in 47.2 overs. Reshim bagh lost its last five wickets for only 19 runs. For Navniketan Cricket Club, Vijay Malik and Aditya Sarwate took three wickets each by giving 29 runs and 21 runs respectively. Shahid Pathan, Ashwin Hatekar & Akshay Karnewar took one wicket each to restrict the total of Reshimbagh at 191 run.

In reply, Navniketan Cricket Club lost its 1st &2nd wicket at team score of 18 runs & 26 runs respectively. Thereafter, Akshay Kolhar and Captain Chandan Singh consolidate the inning and added 135 runs for 3rd wicket partnership in 27 overs. Akshay Kolhar made 85 runs in 96 balls with eight fours (4X8) & one six (6X1) and Captain Chandan Singh remain unbeaten on 71* runs in 100 balls with five fours (4X5) and one six (6X1) and achieved the target in 41.1 overs for the loss of 04 wickets.

From Reshimbagh team, Pawan Yadav, Sumit Ruikar, Prashant Dhayia & Sanket Dixit took one wicket each.

Result: Navniketan Cricket Club won by 06 wickets.

Man of the Match:    Akshay Kolhar of Navniketan Cricket Club for his 85 runs.


Fixture for 09 Jan 13 (Wednesday): Two matches will be played on 09 Jan 13:-

1.         Indian Air Force Vs Navniketan Cricket Club at Maintenance Command Cricket Ground (Vayu Sena Nagar).

2.         Ruby Cricket Club Club Vs Reshimbagh Gymkhana at Ambajhari Cricket Ground.