Published On : Wed, Jun 25th, 2014

Cong stalls rail traffic in Nagpur over fare hike

Nagpur News.

In a fresh move to regain its diminishing glory, Congress party is back in limelight, this time to protest against recent railway fare hike by Modi government. Congress activists staged a rail roko andolan at Nagpur Railway Station on Wednesday, holding Dakshin Express stagnant for nearly one hour after which it was allowed to resume its journey to Delhi. Similar such incidents were reported throughout the day by a separate set of Congress workers.


Meanwhile, railway police detained the protesting party workers who were later let off.

According to the Congress Party activists, Modi had promised during Lok Sabha polls that if the people trust him and BJP, then the party will allay the inflationary burden and will reduce the hiked prices. However, as soon as the BJP came to power at the centre, they hiked fuel prices and to add to that they even hiked the Railway fares, causing additional burden on the common man.

They alleged that Modi had promised that good days are coming soon (Ache Din Aane Waale Hain) and had hoodwinked the common man. There is a nation-wide protest against the hike in railway fare where people are expressing anger towards Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Railway Minister.


President of City Congress Committee Vikas Thakre, the Congress party activists held the Dakshin Express going from Hyderabad to New Delhi on Nagpur Railway Station at 9 am on June 25, 2014. They raised slogans against the BJP Government led by Narendra Modi and Railway Minister. The Dakshin Express has a scheduled halt of 15-25 minutes at Nagpur Railway Station. The train leaves Nagpur Station for Delhi at 09:30 am. The protestors had held the train for more than 1 hour. Only after the Railway Police Force and the Railway administration intervened that the train was allowed to proceed.

President of Nagpur Loksabha Yuvak Congress Bunty Shelke also resorted to similar agitation at railway station where he along with his supporters stood on railway tracks to block the routes.

banty 111

The protestors include Chandrakant Hinge, Prashant Dhawad, Gajraj Hatewar, Abha Pande, Vijay Babre, Atul Kotecha, Vijaya Tajne, Raja Dronkar, Vinod Sonkar, Philip Joseph, Pankaj Nigote, Pundalik Sambe, Nagpur Loksabh Yuvak Congress President Bunty Shelke, Swapnil Bawankar, Umar Shahin, Sheikh Ajhar, Sumit Bhalkear, Reynold Jerome, Naved Sheikh, Kumar Borkute, Aadesh Mohod, Sachin Satpute, Mangesh Kamone, Rajesh Wande, Vinod Chawla, Prakash Raut, Chetan Thool, Chandu Moharale, Akshay Gomkale, Sheikh Ajhar, Pravin Pote,  Shabaj Khan, Saurabh Shelke, Harshal Shinde, Roshan Panchbudhe, Manoj Shivhare, Shubhangi Chintalwar, Tauseef Khan, Vir Malik, Shaoib Rangoonwala, Faisal Rangoonwala, Altamash Quereshi, Palash Jagtap, Parmeshwar Raut, Pravin Agre, Gaurav Mendhe, Sarvesh Nayak, Tushar Randive, Suraj Chokikar, Rupesh Dhande, Zulfeqar Ahmad Shanu, Tabrez Alam, Pratik Bawankar, Akash Taiwade, Akhilesh Rajan, Mahesh Watkar, Leena Khonde, Ketki Shelke, Yogita Parlewar, Ranjita Jadhao, Vicky Jadhao, Paras Thakre and Mohammad Abdul.