| | Contact: 8407908145 |
    Published On : Thu, Feb 1st, 2018
    National News | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

    WB bypolls: TMC sweeps Noapara seat

    The Trinamool Congress has won the Noapara bypoll by over 62, 000 votes.

    TMC candidate Sunil Singh won the seat with 1,11,729 votes.

    The TMC also took an early lead in the Uluberia Lok Sabha byelection by a margin of 4,767 votes.

    After the first round of counting in Uluberia Lok Sabha seat, TMC candidate Sajda Ahmed secured 6,462 votes, whereas CPI-M candidate Sabiruddin Molla bagged 1695 votes. Anupam Mallik of the BJP and S K Madassar Hossain Warsi of the Congress managed 1,471 and 256 votes respectively.

    The elections to both the seats were held on February 29.

    The bypolls were necessitated following the deaths of Sultan Ahmed, the sitting TMC MP from Uluberia Lok Sabha constituency in Howrah district, and Madhusudan Ghose, Congress MLA from Noapara assembly seat in North 24 Parganas district.

    Sajda Ahmed, the TMC candidate from Uluberia parliamentary seat, is the wife of Sultan Ahmed.

    Stay Updated : Download Our App
    Mo. 8407908145