Published On : Sat, Sep 9th, 2023

Top speed: Railways get DPR on Nagpur-Mumbai Bullet Train project

Nagpur: The Nagpur-Mumbai Bullet Train project has advanced significantly as a result of the recent submission of the Detailed Project Report (DPR) to the Ministry of Railways. This accomplishment represents a significant advancement in India’s plans for high-speed rail infrastructure, media reports said..

A big step has been taken with the DPR submission to make this visionary rail corridor a reality. The project intends to link the bustling city of Mumbai with the important economic centre of Nagpur, greatly cutting travel time between the two.

Nagpur: The Nagpur-Mumbai Bullet Train project has taken a significant step forward with the recent submission of the Detailed Project Report (DPR) to the Ministry of Railways. This milestone marks a substantial advancement in India’s ambitious plans to develop high-speed rail infrastructure, promising to revolutionize travel between the bustling city of Mumbai and the crucial economic centre of Nagpur.


The Nagpur-Mumbai Bullet Train project aims to establish a high-speed rail corridor connecting Mumbai with Nagpur. The project seeks to transform the existing travel experience by significantly reducing travel time, boosting connectivity, and fostering economic growth along the corridor.

This achievement demonstrates Indian Railways’ dedication to modernising its network and offering millions of passengers faster and more effective transit options. India will be one step closer to realising its goal of having high-speed rail connections on par with the best in the world thanks to the thorough evaluation of the project’s financial and logistical viability.

A route for the proposed Nagpur-Mumbai High Speed Bullet Train runs parallel to the Samruddhi Mahamarg. A 741-kilometre high-speed rail route will be constructed. This project’s DPR has been created. Recently, this DPR was delivered to the Railway Board. The Railway Board will carefully review this DPR before sending this suggestion to the Centre. This proposed bullet train route’s construction is anticipated to get underway soon.

Due to its parallel location to the Samriddhi Mahamarg, it only requires the acquisition of 1250 hectares of land. 13 districts will not directly profit from this project, but 10 of them will. On this route, 15 stations are envisioned. Thane, Shahpur, Shirdi, Ghoti, Karanja Lad, Nashik, Aurangabad, Jalna, Mehkar, Malegaon, Pulgaon, Wardha, Khapri, and Ajni are among the cities mentioned.

Although the pricing structure has not been determined, it is anticipated to be 1.5 times more expensive than the current first-class AC cost on Indian Railways’ current service. Closer to the start of commercial operations, the formal fare structure, rates, and regulations for the queue are anticipated to be finalised.

For high-speed rail connectivity connecting the several cities across the corridor, the proposed Mumbai-Nagpur High Speed Rail Corridor is scheduled to go along the Samruddhi Mahamarg Motorway, national highways, greenfield regions, and possibly cut through arterial roads of the intermediate city road network.

The current travel time is between 12 and 15 hours; once the project comes to an end, it will only take three and a half hours to get there.

The price per kilometre for this project is going to be Rs 200 crore. One to 1.5 lakh crore rupees are spent overall. This project’s Air Leader Survey was also carried out in March 2021. The detailed project report (DPR) for this project began to be prepared in November 2021. In 2019, a proposal for this undertaking was put forward.

The Railway Board developed and submitted the DPR to the Central Government on March 20, 2022, and would soon analyse it in depth and provide this report to the Central Government. This project will accelerate state district development in 11 areas. On this route, the bullet train will go at 320 km/h, but its actual speed will be approximately 250 km/hr.

Salient features:

  • Objective: : Intercity connectivity between Nagpur and Mumbai
  • Total length: 742 kilometres
  • Land acquisition: Parallel to Samruddhi Mahamarg
  • Required land: Only 1250 hectares needed
  • Benefit: 11 districts will get direct benefit
  • Stations: Mumbai, Thane, Shahpur, Ghoti, Nashik, Shirdi, Aurangabad, Jalna, Mehkar, Malegaon, Karanja Lad, Pulgaon, Wardha, Khapri, Ajni.
  • Travel time: Express trains: 12 to 15 hours, Bullet Train: 3.30 hours
  • Maximum speed: 320 km per hour
  • Average speed: 250 km per hour
  • Total cost: Rs 1.48 lakh crore
  • Per km: Rs 200 crore
  • Announcement: 2019
  • Air Ladder Survey March 2021
  • DPR work started: November 2021
  • DPR work completed: March 2022