Published On : Wed, Jan 18th, 2017

Top guns of city police undergo medical check-up at SSH

Nagpur: The Super Speciality Hospital (SSH) went abuzz on Wednesday as the top guns of city police force paid a visit to the sprawling building of the hospital, not for any action but for medical check-up. A team of top officials including Commissioner of Police Dr K Venkatesham underwent a medical check-up.

This is for the first time that an IPS-level medical check-up was undertaken. The move saved lakhs of rupees of State Government.

The IPS-level health check-up is the brainchild of top cop Dr Venkatesham. The venture was made successful by the cooperation and coordination of SSH team led by GMCH Dean Dr Abhimanyu Niswade and Special Executive Officer Dr Manish Shrigiriwar.

The working style of police force puts lots of stress and workload on officials and personnel and thus they neglect the aspect of personal health. A duty of 15-16 hours takes a heavy toll of health but they have to keep themselves fit all the way to deal with different challenges. To keep them in “working condition” a yearly check-up is undertaken at a private hospital. But this exercise dented the state coffers considerably with Rs 20,000 for each police official. However, the picture has now changed. The Commissioner of Police Dr Venkatesham gave a go by to the practice and decided to undertake medical check-up of IPS-level officials at a Government hospital. And the exercise was undertaken at SSH on Wednesday. A total of 12 IPS officials underwent various tests including kidney, liver, lipid profile, HB, ECG, Echo, TMC, Sonography, and eye checking.

The medical check-up this time was also attended by specialist gynaecologists as the city police force boasts of some women officials.

The 12 IPS officers who underwent medical check-up at SSH include Police Commissioner Dr Venkatesham, DCP (Crime) Ranjankumar Sharma, DCP (EOW) Ishu Sindhu, DCP Abhinash Kumar, DCP Deepali Masirkar, DCP M Rakesh Kalasagar, Special IGP Shivaji Bodkhe, Special IGP Nagpur Range Pratapsingh Patankar, Superintendent of Police (PCR) Nirmala Devi, Counsellor (SRPF) Ram Kumar, Principal (RPTS) D K Jhalke, and Additional SP (Ramtek) Mottani.