Published On : Mon, Mar 21st, 2016

State kabaddi : Double delight for Pune district

Nagpur: Pune district men and women triumphed in 18th Chhatrrapati Trophy State-level Kabaddi Tournament that was jointly organised by Directorate of Sports and Youth Welfare, Nagpur Municipal Corporation, Nagpur and Vidarbha Amateur Kabaddi Association at Chitnis Park on Sunday.

kabbadi-nagpurIn the men’s final, Pune defeated host Nagpur 30-23 by seven points. In the first half Pune were leading 13-12 by just one point. But then they improved their games thanks to the raiders Vikas Kale and Manoj Bande. For Nagpur the efforts of Shashank Wankhede, Mahesh Varutkar, Hemant Dhoke and Sumant Thavre were in vain.

Earlier in the semis, Nagpur pipped Mumbai Suburb 19-18 by just one point. Pune entered the final defeating Ratnagiri 10-6.

In the women section, Pune thrashed Mumbai Suburb by 28 points. Pune were leading by 13-5 in the first half.

Sneha Bibwe, Pooja Shelar and Sayali Anasare propelled Pune into victory. For Mumbai suburb, Shraddha Katam, Apeksha Takle and Pramodini Chavan played well.

Earlier in the semis, Mumbai suburb defeated Ratnagiri 8-4 whereas Pune recorded 21-19 victory over Mumbai city.

Mayor Praveen Datke presided over the prize distribution function. MLA Krishna Khopde, MLCs Anil Sole and Girish Vyas also graced the occasion. During semis guardian minister Chandrashekar Bawankule paid visit to the venue and encouraged the players.

Secretary of Vidarbha Amateur Kabaddi Association Jitendra Thakur, Sunil Chintalwar, deputy director of sports Subhash Rewatkar, DSO Vijay Santan, Gondia DSO Ashok Giri and Bhandara DSO Subhash Gangreddiwar were also present on the occasion.

The winners walked away with RS 1.25 cash and trophy whereas runners-up got Rs 75, 000 and trophy.

Hambirrao Mohite conducted the proceedings while Santan proposed a vote of thanks. Pune men flash victory sign after winning state-level kabaddi title on Sunday.