Published On : Wed, Oct 23rd, 2019

State Assembly polls: All set for counting of votes on Oct 24

Nagpur: All is set for counting votes on Thursday, October 24. Polling for State Assembly elections was held on Monday, October 21. District Collector and District Election Officer Ravindra Thakre on Wednesday visited all counting centres in Nagpur district and reviewed arrangements. The administration is all geared up for counting of votes and declaration of results for State Legislative Assembly election.

According to Thakre, the counting of votes would begin at 8 am on Thursday and the first round would be over in 40-45 minutes. The subsequent rounds will take shorter period of time. There will be maximum 31 rounds in Hingna constituency and minimum 17 rounds each in Nagpur West and Nagpur East constituencies. There will be maximum 20 tables and minimum 14 tables in different constituencies. Each table will have two persons for counting of votes and one micro-observer. Counting of votes will be done at 12 different locations, one for each constituency in the district.

After the polling process was over on Monday, the EVMs and voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) devices were sealed in presence of Observers, authorised representatives of candidates/political parties. All the EVMs andVVPAT devices were shifted to designated strong rooms. Central armed forces, State forces, and local police force have been given the responsibility of one cordon each. Besides, closed circuit television cameras have been installed at strong room locations, and they cover the path from strong room to counting hall. Uninterrupted power supply also has been arranged. Randomisation of the counting staff also has been done, Thakre said.

The District Election Officer further said that the second round will not start till the first round is complete. Once the votes in the EVMs are counted, VVPAT devices from five randomly selected booths will be opened and the votes counted in respective EVMs will be tallied. Besides, postal ballots will be counted.
Constituency-wise list of counting centres

• Nagpur South-West — Mundle’s Platinum Jubilee Hall, near Deekshabhoomi
• Nagpur South — Sanskrutik Bachat Bhavan, opp Hotel Hardeo, Sitabuldi
• Nagpur East — Ishwar Deshmukh College of Physical Education, Krida Chowk
• Nagpur Central — ZP Middle School, Katol Road
• Nagpur West — SFS College, Seminary Hills
• Nagpur North — St Ursula Girls’ High School, Civil Lines
• Katol — Tehsil Office, Katol
• Saoner — Govt ITI, Saoner
• Hingna — Tehsil Office, Hingna
• Umred — Govt ITI, Umred
• Kamptee — Delhi Public School, Khairy, Kamptee
• Ramtek — Govt ITI, Wahitola, Ramtek