Published On : Fri, Jul 8th, 2016

Square to be named after hockey legend Dhyanchand on Saturday

Hockey Legend Major Dhyanchand.
: After a long time, a Hockey Legend and his contribution to Indian Gold Medal count is being recognized. Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) has decided to name a square after Hockey Legend Major Dhyanchand.

The square, near Vidarbha Hockey Association and in front of Patrakar Colony off Amravati Road, will be named after the hockey ‘Wizard’ on Saturday at 4 pm at VHA ground by Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

Addressing a press conference Ruling Party Leader in NMC Dayashankar Tiwari said that Union Minister for Road Transport and Shipping Nitin Gadkari will be the Chief Guest of the programme. Olympian and World Cup Gold Medalist Ashok Kumar, son of Major Dhyanchand, will be the special guest on the occasion, he added.

Guardian Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule will be the guest of honour. Nagpur Mayor Pravin Datke will preside over the programme.

On the occasion, Member of Parliament (MP) Ajay Sancheti, Padmashree MP Vikas Mahatme,  MLAs Nago Ganar, Jogendra Kawade, Anil Sole, Prakash Gajbhiye, Girish Vyas, Sudhakar Deshmukh, Krishna Khopde, Vikas Kumbhare, Sudhakar Kohale, Dr Milind Mane, Deputy Mayor Satish Holay, Standing Committee Chairman Sudhir (Bandu) Raut, Ruling Party Leader Dayashankar Tiwari, Opposition Leader Vikas Thakre, Commissioner Shravan Hardikar, Vidarbha Hockey Association President Radheshyam Sarda, Gautam Patil, Kishor Kumeria, Rahul Telang, Shravan Khapekar, Sumitra Jadhav, Lata Yadav, Ramnath Sonwane, Seema Raut, Raju Lokhande, Aslam Khan, Sunil Agrawal, Munna Pokulwar, Sunil Agrawal, Ravindra Kumbhare, Dr Rizwan Siddique and others will also remain prominently present.

This will be the first square in the city to be named after Dhyanchand, who has won three Olympic gold medals for India. The decision was taken during the special meeting of NMC in the month of March. The proposal, to name the square after the most decorated hockey player of the country Dhyanchand, was given by Vidarbha Hockey Association in February.

Mayor Datke has also announced the same during the prize distribution function of Inter-School Hockey Tournament organized by ‘The Hitavada’.

Vidarbha Hockey Association has requested all the life members, schools, colleges, clubs and institutions to attend the function in large numbers.

The press conference was attended by Sunil Agrawal, Gopal Bhoare, Secretary of Vidarbha Hockey Association DS Karunashankar, and Joint Secretary of Vidarbha Hockey Association Pramod Jain.