Published On : Sat, Jul 30th, 2016

Solar Radiation Resource Assessment Centre activated at VNIT

With the aim of giving a boost to solar power projects in Nagpur District, a Solar Radiation Resource Assessment Centre was activated at Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology (VNIT), in city as directed by State Energy Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule.

The data and other information collected by the Centre would be provided to the solar power generating projects. On the basis of this input, selection of an appropriate place for setting up of solar power plants would be easier. The Solar Radiation Resource Assessment Centre at VNIT was started through Mahaurja (Maharashtra Urja Vikas Abhikaran) with the technical assistance from National Institute of Wind Energy (NIWE), Chennai.

The Maharashtra Government, with the aim of encouraging solar power generation, had announced a policy on unconventional energy generation on July 20, 2015. Accordingly, a target of generating 7500 megawatt solar power projects was fixed. Setting up of Solar Radiation Resource Assessment Centre was decided on February 1, 2013 to assess and monitor solar power radiation. Under this scheme, seven Solar Radiation Resource Assessment Centres were activated in the State. The centre facilitates assessment of various factors in environment such as wind pressure, temperature, humidity, rainfall, wind direction and speed etc. The centre has been equipped with latest tools at the cost of approximate Rs 43 lakh.

Float tenders for installing solar power sets at Govt buildings:
The Energy Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule on Saturday directed the Mahaurja authorities to float tenders for installing solar power sets atop all government buildings in Nagpur district within eight days. Presiding over a Mahaurja meeting, Bawankule said that he has approved a fund of Rs 3 crore from District Planning Committee. The Mahaurja officials have already inspected the government buildings where the solar power sets will be installed. A technical sanction has also been approved for this move. Initially, the solar power sets will be installed on 10 government buildings in the district.