Published On : Mon, Oct 27th, 2014

RTMNU nominates Dr Prafulkumar Kale as its representative in the VC Selection Committee

: The Academic Council (AC) and Management Council (MC) of Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj Nagpur University (RTMNU) on Monday nominated Dr Prafulkumar Kale as its representative in the Vice Chancellor Selection Committee. In a joint meeting held on Monday, the AC and MC unanimously selected Dr Kale, presently Director of Wardha-based Rural Industrial Institute, as RTMNU’s representative in the crucial Committee which will select the next Vice Chancellor of Nagpur University subject to consent of Governor.

Governor to issue two names:
In the joint meeting of Academic Council and Management Council, the Dean of Commerce Faculty Dr Bharat Meghe proposed the name of Dr Prafulkumar Kale. The Member of Management Council Adv D K Agrawal seconded Dr Kale’s name. In the Vice Chancellor Selection process, no member from University Administration is included in the Committee. Now, nomination of two members from Governor has been awaited for a full-fledged Selection Committee. The two members of Governor include name of a retired Judge of High Court and Chief Secretary in Government of Maharashtra.

In the race for VC:
Interestingly, the Acting Vice Chancellor Dr Vinayak Deshpande, presiding over the joint meeting of AC and MC, barged out of the meeting as soon as it started. Similarly, Registrar Dr Ashok Gomashe, Dr K C Deshmukh, Dr Pramod Yewale, Dr Ganorkar too showed their absence from the meeting. According to sources, all these dignitaries are in the race for Vice Chancellor. Hence, they stayed away from the joint meeting.