Published On : Wed, Oct 21st, 2015

Rich tributes paid to martyred cops on Police Commemoration Day

 Police Commemoration Day (2)
: City police on Wednesday paid rich tributes to policemen who sacrificed their lives in the line of duty to mark Police Commemoration Day being observed on Wednesday (Oct 21).

Top brass of Nagpur police including Joint Commissioner of Police Rajwardhan, Additional Commissioner of Police Shrikant Tarwade, DCPs Ranjan Sharma, Deepali Masirkar, Abhinash Kumar, Ishu Sindhu, Sanjay Darade, Sanjay Latkar, Bharat Tangde and other officials attende the event and placed wreaths to pay their tributes to martyred cops.

During the commemoration ceremony, names of policemen were read out who sacrificed their lives across the Maharashtra while on duty. A parade was held at City Police Headquarters. The history of commemoration day traces back to October 21, 1959, when a patrol party of CRPF, led by Sub-Inspector Karam Singh, was ambushed by the Chinese forces at Hot Springs Ladakh and 10 jawans were killed.

It is the commemoration of the bravery and resultant sacrifice of jawans fighting at 16,000 ft altitude in extremely cold conditions and against all odds.

The Annual Conference of Inspectors General of Police of States and Union Territories held in January 1960 decided that October 21 would henceforth be observed as Commemoration Day in all Police Lines throughout the country to mark the memory of those martyred policemen killed in Ladakh and all other police personnel killed on duty during the year.
Police Commemoration Day
Police Commemoration Day (5)
Police Commemoration Day (3)
Police Commemoration Day (4)