Published On : Tue, Nov 19th, 2013

Raj Thackeray to give Marwadi Foundation’s Prabodhankar Thackeray Award to Belurkar


Nagpur News.

The Marwadi Foundation which started in Nagpur on May 26, 2008 undertakes the responsibility of honouring some of the city’s prominent personalities and social workers to underline their efforts of significance. The Marwari Foundation has instituted Babasaheb Ambedkar Award which constitutes Rs 5 lakhs.

This year the office-bearers of Marwadi Foundation decided to confer the Late Prabodhankar Thackeray Award to Gramgeetacharya Ramkrushnada Belurkar (on Wenesday 20 Nov at Vasantrao Despande Hall, Nagpur)  who has been following and propagating the principles of Sant Tukadoji Maharaj for the last 60-70 years. The award will be conferred on Ramkrushnada Belurkar at the hands of MNS Chief Raj Thackrey.

In an exclusive talk with Nagpur Today, noted social worker and trustee of Vanrai Girish Gandhi said that Prabhodhankar Kesav Sitaram Thackeray was a social activist, visionary and a social reformer, and since Gramgeetacharya Ramkrushnada Belurkar emulates a similar persona, the Marwadi Foundation has decided to felicitate him and confer the Late Prabhodhankar Thackeray award on him.  The award includes a cash of Rs 1 lakh, shrifal, shawl and a memento.

Leader of National repute Nitin Gadkari will be the Chief Guest, while Editor in Chief of Lokmat Group and Member of Rajya Sabha Vijay Darda will preside over the function, Senior Leader of Vidarbha and M.P Datta Meghe, Chairman of Dainik Bhaskar Manmohan Agrawal and Former Minister Ramesh Bang will grace the function as Guests of Honour. Ramkrishna Belurkar’s life time contributions will be introduced by renowned litterateur Ulhas Pawar.

The office-bearers of Marvadi Foundation include Girish Gandhi, Satyanarayan Nuwal, MP Ajay Sancheti, MLC Mitesh Bhangadia, Vijay Murarka, Anil Rathi, Shrikrishna Chandak, Sunil Raisoni, Govind Agrawal, Mahesh Purohit, Rajendra Agrawal, D R Mal, Jugalkishore Sarda and Rajkumar Malu.