Published On : Mon, Jul 17th, 2017

Prez polls: Voting begins across India

Prez polls Voting Yogi Adityanth
New Delhi: So, PM Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah were the first to cast their vote in Parliament in the Presidential Polls being held today. Voting, which began at 10 am across the country, is underway simultaneously in all state assemblies as well as in the Parliament.

Every elected legislator will exercise his/her franchise to choose the country’s next President.

The ruling NDA has thrown its weight behind former Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind, while a gathbandhan of of 14 Opposition parties have proposed former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar as their presidential candidate.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, who are yet to resign from the Lok Sabha, will vote at the respective Assemblies. Adityanath has already cast his vote in the UP Assembly.

After the PM and Shah vote, MPs have begun queueing up in Parliament to cast their vote.

Jailed MLAs Chhagan Bhujbal and Ramesh Kadam will be brought to the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly from prison for voting. MLAs have also begun queuing up at the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly to cast their votes.