| | Contact: 8407908145 |
    Published On : Sat, Oct 10th, 2015
    National News | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

    One more writer, Sarah Joseph, returns Akademi Award in protest!

    Now Litterateurs are against functioning of Modi government
    New Delhi/ Nagpur: In protest against condemnable Dadri incident, as the ire of writers against Modi government is still continuing, one more renowned novelist in Malyalam Literature, Sarah Joseph, returned her Sahitya Akademi Award on Saturday. She alleged that the Prime Minster’s statement on Dadri was diplomatic, said media reports.

    Sarah Joseph was awarded Sahitya Akademi Puraskar for her novel Aalhayude Penmakkal (Daughter of God the father). On the other hand a Malyalam poet, K Sachchidanand tendered his resignation on Saturday from the panel of Sahitya Akademi.
    Reacting sharply over PM’s statement, Sarah said, “PM’s statement after 9 days of the death of a person was a diplomatic one.” Raising question on beef-ban, she asked whether people should lose their right to choice as to what they should eat or drink.
    So far, many renowned writers have returned their Sahitya Akademi Puraskar, and they are Sarah Joseph, Ashok Vajpeyi, Nayantara Sahgal and Uday Prakash.

    Those who have resigned from Sahitya Akademi are renowned writers, namely, Shashi Deshpande and K Sachchidanand; and Kannada litterateurs like Veeranna Madivalar, T Satish Jaware Gouda, Sangamesh Menasikhani, Chidanand, Shridevi V Alur and Hanumant Haligeri, informed the sources.
    What is the reason?
    The cause behind this development is reported to be attacks on writers, spoiling of the communal harmony and Dadri like incidents.

    About Sahitya Akademi Puraskar
    The awarding of of Sahitya Akademi Puraskar began in year 1954 for excellent literature created in Indian languages. This Puraskar is given for translation of literature, child literature and creative youth writing. As many as 60 litterateurs have been award with this Puraskar since 1955 up to date. The first ever Sahitya Akademi Award was given to Makhanlal Chaturvedi in year 1955 for hi ‘Himtarangini.’ In year 1957, this Puraskar was conferred on Acharya Narendra Deo (posthumously) for Buddha Dhamma Shatra, said the sources.

    All the writers returning their Puraskar unanimously voiced against infringement of freedom to expression and thought, choice to food and other liberty-related activities. In her resignation-letter to Chairman of Sahitya Akademi, renowned novelist Shashi Deshpande, who was awarded for her novel ‘The Long Silence’ as well as Padmashi Award in 2009, said, “I strongly oppose such incidents and hope that the Akademi is not for the writers only and limiting to conferring awards, it will care for problems related with Indian writers, and safeguard the right of freedom to speak.”

    Trending In Nagpur
    Stay Updated : Download Our App
    Mo. 8407908145