Published On : Mon, Jun 19th, 2017

NMC’s Rs 2271 crore budget passed after 8-hour debate


NMC Nagpur
Nagpur: The Rs 2271 crore budget of Nagpur Municipal Corporation for financial year 2017-18 was passed on Monday after a marathon 8-hour debate in the General Body meeting held at Mahal-based Town Hall. The budget was passed after increasing the Corporator’s Ward Fund by Rs 2 lakh from Rs 15 lakh to Rs 17 lakh. Rs 2 lakh from the Ward Fund will be used for purchasing the dustbins to be distributed to citizens for segregation of wet and dry waste.

The Rs 2271.97 crore budget of NMC was presented by Chairman of Standing Committee Sandeep Jadhav on Saturday. The budget was passed after more than 4 dozen members participated in the marathon debate.

The Ruling Party Leader Sandeep Joshi said that the GST will come into force from July 1. With this, all grants being provided to the civic body would cease. The grant in the form of GST will be received by NMC after two months of GST implementation. To deal with the 2-month financial problem, NMC is launching an amnesty scheme under the provisions of the budget. The amnesty scheme will be in force from July 6 to 16. The scheme will offer waiver of 100 percent of penalty amount to water tax defaulters and waiver of 90 per cent of penalty amount to Property Tax defaulters. The total dues amounting to Rs 450 crore in both the taxes are pending with defaulters. The amount would be reduced to Rs 200 crore after waiver of penalties. The NMC will have to make efforts to recover the dues, Joshi said and added that the amnesty scheme will be the last opportunity for the defaulters in the coming five years. Joshi hoped that the financial condition of the civic body would improve 6-8 months after implementation of GST.

The Standing Committee Chairman Sandeep Jadhav, while presenting the NMC Budget, had set his priorities right by focusing on completion of ongoing projects instead of announcing new ones.

The marathon debate got off to a start at 10.45 am instead of the fixed 10 am. The senior Corporator Chhotu Bhoyar started the debate. Thereafter, Sanjay Bangale, Sandeep Sahare, Vaishali Narnavre, Vicky Kukreja, Jitendra Ghodeswar, Nishant Gandhi, Dinesh Yadav, Parasram Manvatkar, Swati Akhatkar, Vandana Chandekar, Pramod Chikhle, Purssshottam Hazare, Pradeep Pohane, Mangala Lanjewar, Sangita Girhe, Darshani Dhavad, Neha Nikose, Niranka Bhivgade, Sushma Chaudhari, Rupa Rai, Harshala Sable, Kishore Kumeria, Satish Hole, Manoj Sangole, Abha Pande, Kamalesh Chaudhari, Dilip Diwe, Jagdish Gwalbanshi, Zulfikar Bhutto, Asha Uike, Yashashri Nandanwar, Praful Gudhadhe Patil, Pravin Datke expressed their views on the budget.