Published On : Fri, Oct 31st, 2014

NMC seals Shyam Sunder Stores, dealing in cloth, for evading Local Body Tax in lakhs

Shop Seal
Acting tough on evaders of Local Body Tax (LBT), Nagpur Municipal Corporation on Friday conducted search & seizure operation at M/s Shyam Sunder Stores, situated near UCO Bank, Sitabuldi Main Road, Nagpur; owned by Shankarlal Narayandas Kataria. The NMC’s Local Body Tax Department noticed that consignments of cloth are being imported by the firm without obtaining LBT registration. The search team did not find any documents or invoices pertaining to the business. The business/establishment is being run since the past 40 years.

Local Body Tax was enforced from 1.4.2013 but the dealer carried out the business without obtaining the LBT registration and thus is evading taxes since last about 18 months. The dealer has not maintained any record or accounts in regards to his business. As per the inventory of goods recorded by the search team, goods approximately worth Rs. 10 lakh were stocked in the shop without payment of LBT. Subsequently, the search team sealed the establishment.

Shop Seal  (1)
As per LBT Rule 9(1), a dealer liable for registration could not carry the business within the city without obtaining LBT Registration. LBT Department has observed that many dealers are purchasing and importing various goods without being registered under LBT. The Department with the help of intelligence and information forwarded by dealers suffering from such practices, has located and shortlisted many such dealers and shall initiate search and seizure action in accordance with Section 152J of Maharashtra Municipal Corporations Act, 1949; against all such dealers in future.

The action was initiated by LBT Officers, Yadav, Jambhulkar, Assistant LBT Officers, Sanjay Mendule, Narayan Wankhede, Vilas Chahande, Ramesh Padghan and Junior  Inspectors Hore, Charde, Uke and Samundre under the supervision of Milind Meshram, Assistant Commissioner (LBT) and guidance of Municipal Commissioner and Additional Deputy Municipal Commissioner.