NMC poll expense limit hiked to Rs 10 lakh from Rs 4 lakh

Nagpur: In a good news to candidates contesting the NMC elections, the State Election Commission has increased the poll expense limit to Rs 10 lakh from the present Rs 4 lakh. A notification to this effect was issued by the poll panel on Tuesday night.

Many candidates complained that they are facing problems in filing nomination papers online. It is taking 4-5 hours to complete the process, said a BJP Corporator. When the administration was submitted a memorandum in this connection, some changes were made in the system and the problem was sorted out.

In a peculiar situation, several candidates filed their nomination papers even though they were not issued AB forms. When the AB forms are issued to such candidates, they can fill up the form before 3 pm of February 3, 2017, the last date of nominations. Otherwise, such candidates would be declared as independents.

Meanwhile, 37 candidates filed their nominations online till 5.30 pm of Wednesday, the Day 6 of the process. Till yesterday, 15 nominations were filed taking the total to 42 nominations for the February 21 poll.

The zone-wise figures of nominations are: Zone-1 – 2, Zone-2 – 4, Zone-4 – 1, Zone-5 – 3, Zone-6 – 6, Zone-7 – 3, Zone-8 – 4, Zone-9 – 4, Zone-10 – 3, Zone-11 – 4 and Zone-12 – 3.

Those who filed their nominations include Ramesh Kanduji Sinha, Santosh Krushnarao Bokde, Prabhakar Nagorao Kakde, Prakash Kisanlal Akre, Pukhraj Sitaram Shripad, Sanjay Himmat Saraikar, Munna P Verma, Abhay E Kale, Vijay Rajan Gaure, Haji Abdulm Rehman Haji Abdul Karim Quereshi, Kamladevi H Yadav, Kabiruddin Fariuddin Khan, Ajay Murlidhar Chandekar, Anil Dwarkanath Khaparde, Charanjitsingh A Chaudhary, Yuvraj Manoharrao Kukde, Salu Anil Nagare, Paliram Baliram Karhade, Ganesh Lilaram Shahu, Meena Dilip Chaudhary, Vinod Narayan Gajbhiye, Ravindra Govindrao Dolas, Dharmendra Madanlal Nima and Ajay Premchand Shahu.

– RAJEEV RANJAN KUSHWAHA(rajeev.nagpurtoday@gmail.com)