New Standing Committee chief vows to boost NMC’s finances

Nagpur: Sandeep Jadhav, senior Bharatiya Janata Party Corporator was on Saturday formally elected Chairman of Standing Committee. He assumed office immediately after his election.

Speaking on the occasion, Jadhav said that the current financial position of Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) is a concern for him. “My priority would be to boost the finances of the local body after studying minutely the income sources such as Property Tax, Town Planning Department, Market Department, Fire Brigade etc. Overall development of all Prabhags would be achieved and for this funds would be made available in the coming 2017-18 Budget,” the new Chairman of Standing Committee stated.

He further said that his party has given such a big responsibility to a common worker like him. “I will try to live up to expectation of the party. I am thankful to the voters of Prabhag 11 for electing me in the just-concluded NMC poll,” Jadhav said.

Sandeep Jadhav fought the NMC election for the first time in 2012. He emerged winner too. He was also made Deputy Mayor by the party.

Earlier, in a special meeting held at Dr Panjabrao Deshmukh Hall in NMC’s Civil Lines office on Saturday morning, Jadhav was elected Chairman of Standing Committee unopposed. District Collector Sachin Kurve was present as Returning Officer. Of a total 16 members of the Standing Committee, 12 members of BJP and one from BSP were present in the meeting. Congress which has a quota of three members is yet to nominate its members.

After his election, Jadhav took charge from outgoing Chairman Sudhir (Bandu) Raut in a small function. The Leader of Opposition Sanjay Mahakalkar, MLAs Sudhakar Kohale, Sudhakar Deshmukh, Krishna Khopde, and others welcomed and felicitated Jadhav.

Other dignitaries who grace the occasion include Mayor Nanda Jichkar, Ruling Party Leader Sandeep Joshi, higher officials of NMC and others. Addressing the gathering, the Mayor said that the post of Standing Committee Chairman is most important one. The newly-elected Chairman will come out triumphant and turn the NMC coffers buoyant. He will ensure that the funds are not a constraint in carrying out development works in the city.


· The time for start of the special meeting to elect new Chairman of Standing Committee was fixed at 10 am. However, the District Collector Sachin Kurve who acted as Returning Officer arrived two minutes late. He promptly tendered his apology to Additional Municipal Commissioner Dr Ramnath Sonavane.

· The election process got over in just 10 minutes.

· The BSP member of the Standing Committee who was present in the meeting was “assumed outsider” by NMC Secretary Harish Dubey. He immediately sent an employee to verify his identity of this “infiltrator.” But when the reality dawned, relief was sensed.

· The garlands, bouquets presented to the newly-elected Chairman of Standing Committee were again used to welcome other dignitaries seated on the dais.