Published On : Wed, Apr 25th, 2018

Nagpur’s ‘non-existing’ university figures in list of fake universities declared by UGC


Nagpur: The University Grants Commission (UGC) has released a list of 24 “self-styled” and fake varsities across the country including a ‘non-existing’ university in Nagpur.

A notice release issued by UGC read, “Students and public are informed that at present following 24 self-styled and unrecognised institutions are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act in various parts of the country. The public at large is cautioned not to take admission in these Fake Universities.”

A ‘non-existing’ university, Raja Arabic University, figures in the list of fake universities.

Following is the list of 24 fake Universities/Colleges across the country:

1. Maithili University/Vishwavidyalaya, Darbhanga, Bihar.

2. Commercial University Ltd., Daryaganj, Delhi.

3. United Nations University, Delhi.

4. Vocational University, Delhi.

5. ADR-Centric Juridical University, New Delhi.

6. Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, New Delhi

7. Viswakarma Open University for Self-employment, New Delhi

8. Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University), Vijay Vihar, Delhi

9. Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society, Gokak, Belgaum (Karnataka)

10. St. John’s University, Kishanattam, Kerala

11. Raja Arabic University, Nagpur

12. Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Chowringhee Road, Kolkata.

13. Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research, Thakurpukur, Kolkata.

14. Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi, UP/Jagatpuri, Delhi.

15. Mahila Gram Vidyapith/Vishwavidyalaya, (Women’s University) Prayag, Allahabad (UP)

16. Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Prayag, Allahabad (UP)

17. National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur

18. Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University), Aligarh, UP.

19. Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Mathura (UP).

20. Maharana Partap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh (UP).

21. Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Makanpur, Noida, Phase-II, (UP)

22. Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, AnupoornaBhawan, Rourkela

23. North Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, Odisha

24. Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, Pondicherry

These universities have been declared as fake and are not entitled to confer any degrees.