Published On : Tue, Jun 14th, 2016

Nagpur women create history state athletics


nagpur atheleticsBalewadi/Nagpur: Nagpur district women created history by securing gold medal in 4×400 metre relay for the first time on the second and last day of Maharashtra State Senior Athletics Championship that concluded at Balewadi in Pune.

Since the inception of Nagpur District Athletics Association (earlier Vidarbha Region Amateur Athletics Association) in 1965, Nagpur women bagged first gold medal in this event. The relay team was represented by Yamini Thakre (Vidyarthi Yuvak Krida Mandal), Monika Raut (SEC Railway) and Jyoti Chavan.

In javeline throw Nagma Shikalgir of Samarth Krida Mandal threw 24.20 metre and secured bronze medal.

d287537-largeHowever gold medal contender in 5000 m race Jyoti Chavan had to satisfy on bronze medal. She clocked 18.16 minutes. Nashik’s international athlete Sanjivani Jadhav won the race with a timing 17. 2o0 seconds. Nikita Raut (Track Star) clocked 19.19 seconds and finished fourth whereas another district athlete Shital Barai of Nav Maharashtra Krida Mandal followed her for fifth place.

In men’s 5000 m race, Nagpur district deprived of any medal but their performance was satisfactory. Nav Maharashtra Krida Mandal athletes Nitesh Nagnade (16. 24 sec), and Sheshrao Raut (16.54 sec) achieved fifth and seventh place respectively.

Mumbai’s Sachin Patil won the race with a timing of 15.03 seconds. In women 800 metre race, Sayali Waghmare of Nav Maharashtra clocked 2:18:50 sec and finsihed fourth . Nagpur district women were declared runners-up with 47 points in the said championship. Pune district were declared champions with 101 points whereas Thane secured 46 points to achieve third place.

In men’s section Pune (134), Mumbai (42) and Nashik (32) secured first, second and third place. Pune emerged overall champion with highest 235 points. NDAA will be honouring medal winner athletes on Wednesday at 6 p.m. at RTM Nagpur University ground. Director of Department of Physical Education Dr Dhananjay Welukar will be the chief guest. NDAA treasurer Dr Sanjay Choudhary will preside over. Gold medal winners will get Rs 700, silver medal Rs 500 and Rs 300 for bronze medal winners. Nagpur district relay team members after winning gold medal in Senior State Athletics Championship in Pune. Nagma Shikalgir