Published On : Tue, Mar 3rd, 2015

Nagpur VCA President Dixit says he is happy with Dalmiya’s return

Nagpur: In BCCI’s Annual General Meeting on Monday Jagmohan Dalmiya, Jagguda as he was known affectionately n cricket circles, was unanimously elected as the BCCI president.

But for the other BCCI posts the fight between the contestants was tough. Let’s find out who beats whom in the high-profile elections.

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association chief Anurag Thakur beat Sanjay Patel by one vote to become the secretary.

Haryana’s Anirudh Choudhary beat Rajeev Shukla for treasurer.

CK Khanna became the vice president of the Central Zone as he edged past ​Jyotiraditya Scindia.

TC Matthews has been elected as the BCCI vice-president from the West Zone as he won over Ravi Sawant.

Amitabh Chaudhary won the post of joint-secretary by beating Chetan Desai with the help of chairman Shivlal Yadav’s casting vote.

While three vice-Presidents who were elected unopposed are Andhra’s Gokaraju Gangaraju (south zone), Assam’s Goutam Roy (east) with M L Nehru of Jammu and Kashmir representing the north zone.

The elections were bitterly contested by the two groups – Sharad Pawar and N. Srinivasan, the ‘ousted’ president.

Shivlal Yadav chaired the BCCI AGM and also monitored proceedings in Chennai.

His decision in allowing Gaikwad to represent BCA has already been challenged in the court according to reports.

The BCCI’s twice deferred election is set to be challenged in the Bombay High Court on Tuesday over the decision to allow the Baroda Cricket Association president Samarjit Sinh Gaekwad to represent the BCA in the election.

The appeal challenging the procedural formalities of the BCCI election will be filed on behalf of former BCCI vice-president Ravi Savant, who had been in competition for the same post in the West and lost to TC Mathew of the Kerala Cricket Association by two votes. The BCA managing committee claimed to have passed a resolution that deputed Rakesh Parikh to represent them at the AGM, but Gaekwad claimed that as president he had the right to represent the BCA. Both factions had submitted letters to the BCCI and the house left the interim president Shivlal Yadav to decide between the two BCA candidates.

Be that as it may, when NT came across Nagpur VCA guys Shashank Manohar and present President Prakash they expressed hapiness at Dalmiya’s return as President.

“Our man has won and come back” they opined.

It seems that though he is on the scene no more a good number of men who won belong to the Srinivasan group and erst while honcho of cricket Sharad Pawar’s group lost almost en block. Just a few days ago, Sharad Pawar had confabulated with Modi seeking his support in the elections. Modi had held the post of President of the Gujarat Cricket Association before vacating it after becoming Prime Minister. Amit Shah, , the BJP President and right hand man of Modi , was  elected unopposed as the Gujarat Cricket Association (GCA) president in his place.

As in politics so in cricket the same set of faces seem to dominate the election scene.