Published On : Thu, Jul 28th, 2016

Nagpur varsity takes U-turn, ayes admission to 30 erring engineering colleges

RTMNU CampusNagpur: The authorities at Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj Nagpur University (RTM-NU) has added a new twist in the tale of 32 private engineering colleges in Nagpur and Vidarbha. The university had previously drafted recommendation for barring admission to these colleges for non-compliance of AICTE norms.

But now it turned out that the University higher ups have made significant changes in their report sent to Directorate of Technical Education and cleared the obstacles for the engineering colleges to proceed for fresh intake in the current academic session. Insiders suggested that out of these 32 engineering colleges, 30 were said to have mended ways and brought desired changes to fit into the norms. Following this the university authorities altered its recommendation to bar admission to these colleges. However it has kept the recommendation for remaining two colleges as earlier.

The two engineering colleges include Acharya Vinoba Bhave Institute of Technology, Wardha, and V M Institute of Technology, Nagpur, which will lose all branches except Mechanical. The RTMNU had constituted committees to check compliance of AICTE norms by technical institutions as regards academic and infrastructure aspects. The committees had found that 32 colleges have flouted norms, and had issued notices to all those in that regard. Following the process, the Board of College and University Development (BCUD) had recommended to Academic Council that admissions in those colleges for the academic year 2016-17 be stopped.

Vice-Chancellor Dr. S. P. Cane, on behalf o f the Academic Council, had approved the recommendation by using his special power under 14(7) ofMaharashtra Universities Act, 1994.

Colleges that have now turned towards the positive side of RTMNU include – Sureshrao Deshmukh College of Engineering,Wardha; Vidya Niketan College of Engineering; Suryodaya College of Engineering; V M Institute of Technology Agnihotri College of Engineering, Wardha; M B Patel College, Bhandara; M B Patel College, Gondia; J L Chaturvedi College of Enginee ring, Vilasrao Deshmukh College of Engineering; I D College of Engineering; Nagpur Institute of Technology; Tulsiram Gailcwad Patil College of Engineering and Technology Shankarrao Agnihotri College of Engineering, Wardha; Guru Nanak Institute Engineering and Technology; Vidarbha Institute of Technology; Raj ashri Mulak College of Engineering; Cummins College of EngineeringforWomen, Nagarjuna Institute of Engineering and Technology; Acharya Vinoba Bhave Institute of Technology, Wardha;WaingangaCollege ofEngineering; Anjuman College of Engineering Madhulcarrao Pandav College of Engineering, Mauda; G H Raisoni College of Engineering (Women’s); G H Raisoni Academy; Umred College of Engineering NUWA College of Engineering; Om College of Engineering, Wardha. While issuing notices, the University had stated that if the colleges appointed teachers before the start of Centralised Admission Process (CAP), they would get relief in the form of withdrawal of freeze on admissions.

In response to the university’s offer, 30 colleges except Acharya Vinoba Bhave Institute of Technology, Wardha and V M Institute of Technology (except Mechanical) reportedly made suitable appointments ofteaching staff, thus rectifying teacher-student ratio. This action by RTMNU authorities, however, gave a rude shock to the erring colleges whose managements made swift moves to save a full academic year for themselves. In the process, between 400 and 500 teachers’ names have received approval, thus clearing the clogged process of admissions of thousands of students.