Published On : Mon, May 26th, 2014

Nagpur to run nation’s transport, maritime as Gadkari gets Transport and Shipping Ministry

nitingadkari-transportation and shipping minister indiaNagpur News.

Now, the nation’s transport and maritime will be run by Nagpur in true sense of the word. Nitin Gadkari, included in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Council of Ministers, has been allocated Surface Transport and Shipping portfolio.

Earlier, Narendra Damodar Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister of India by President Pranab Mukherjee at majestic Rashtrapati Bhavan forecourt at a ceremony attended by Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif, President of Sri Lanka Mahinda Rajapaksa, President of Afghanistan Hamid Karzai, Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, Maldives President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom, Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala, Prime Minister of Mauritius  Navin Ramgoolam and the Speaker of Bangladesh’s Parliament, Shirin Sharmin. More than 3000 eminent personalities from all walks of life also attended the biggest ever swearing in ceremony in the history of Indian nation.

A ground-to-air security cover on par with the Republic Day Parade was put in place for the swearing-in.  Delhi Police said a multi-layered security ring is being thrown around Raisina Hills.


With Nitin Gadkari becoming Transport Minister, Nagpur has turned a robust power center of nation’s transportation with a gigantic network of road and maritime.

The maverick leader of BJP, very close to RSS, Nitin Gadkari won the Lok Sabha election from Nagpur constituency when he defeated Vilas Muttemwar of Congress by a margin of about 2 lakh. Gadkari’s inclusion in Modi Cabinet was in the air and the city went ecstatic when Gadkari took the oath as Cabinet Minister along with other Ministers.

But the crown would not be easy. Expectations from Gadkari on transport front along with overall development of Nagpur have already reached to feverish pitch. The priorities would only be known when Gadkari arrives in Nagpur. A tumultuous welcome awaits him with city BJP workers and leaders going great guns in preparations for the grand day.

Here is the full list of Modi’s Cabinet:

Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari, Sushma Swaraj, Venkaiah Naidu, Sadanand Gowda, Uma Bharti, Najma Heptullah, Gopinath Munde, Ramvilas Paswan, Kalraj Mishra, Maneka Gandhi, Ananth Kumar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Ashok Gajapathi Raju, Anant Geete, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Narendra Singh Tomar, Jual Oram, Radha Mohan Singh, Thawar Chand Gehlot, Smriti Irani, Dr. Harshvardhan.

List of MoS (Independent Charge):

VK Singh, Rao Inderjit Singh, Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Shripad Naik, Dharmendra Pradhan, Sarbananda Sonowal, Prakash Javadekar, Piyush Goel, Dr.Jitendra Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, G.M. Siddeshwara, Manoj Sinha, Upendra Kushwaha, Pon Radhakrishnan, Kiren Rijiju, Krishan Pal Gujjar, Sanjeev Baliyan, Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava.

Some of his key minister are senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley who has been given the charge of finance ministry and additional charge of the defence ministry in the Cabinet of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Apart from Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj has been given charge of ministry of external affairs and Rajnath Singh was given charge of the home ministry.

The list of ministers includes:

Sushma Swaraj – Ministry of External Affairs

Ananth Kumar – Parliamentary Affairs + additional charge

Nitin Gadkari – Surface Transport Ministry and Shipping Ministry

Sadanand Gowda – Railways Ministry

Venkaiah Naidu – Urban Development Ministry

Ravi Shankar Prasad – Telecom Ministry, Law and Justice Ministry

Maneka Gandhi – Women and Child Development Ministry

Najma Heptullah – Ministry of Minorities

Smriti Irani – HRD Ministry

Radha Mohan Singh – Agriculture Ministry

Nirmala Sitharaman – MoS Commerce

Piyush Goel – MoS Power (Independent)

Prakash Javadekar – MoS Information & Broadcasting

Ram Vilas Paswan- Food and Civil Supplies Ministry

Rajnath Singh – Minister for Home Affairs

Arun Jaitley – Finance Ministry and additional charge of the Defence Ministry

Uma Bharati — Union minister for water resources and Ganga

Jual Oram — Cabinet minister for tribal affairs.