Published On : Sat, Dec 31st, 2016

Nagbhushan Puraskar to be conferred on Fadnavis on Sunday

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis will be conferred with the prestigious Nagbhushan Puraskar for his outstanding work for Vidarbha’s cause at State as well as at international level and also for contribution in social work.

The award for this year will be conferred by Nagbhushan Foundation in a special programme to be held on Sunday, January 1, 2017. The function will be held at 4.30 pm at Sai Sabhagruha, Rashtrabhasha Complex, near Shankar Nagar Square.

Fadnavis has been selected for the Nagbhushan Award for the year 2016. The award comprises Rs 1 lakh cash and scroll of honour

Till now, 14 eminent personalities have been conferred with the Nagbhushan Puraskar for their excellent work in various fields in Vidarbha.

Union Surface Transport and Shipping Minister Nitin Gadkari will present the award in the august presence of former Supreme Court Judge V S Sirpurkar. The programme will be presided over by Union Minister of State for Home Hansraj Ahir while Guardian Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule, Rajya Sabha Member Ajay Sancheti, former MP Datta Meghe will grace the occasion as special guests.

The 14 personalities previously awarded the Nagbhushan Puraskar are:

1) R K Patil (2002)
2) Nitin Gadkari (2003)
3) Bhante Surai Sasai (2004)
4) G M Taori (2005)
5) Prin Ram Shewalkar (2006)
6) Dr Prakash Amte and (2007)
Mandatai Amte
7) Maruti Chitampalli (2008)
8) Mahesh Elkunchwar (2009)
9) Kavi Grace (2010)
10) Rajkumar Hirani (2011)
11) Thakurdas Bang (2012)
12) Adv V R Manohar (2013)
13) Dr Vijay Bhatkar (2014)
14) Dr Vikas Amte (2015)

The award for the year is to be conferred on Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis on Sunday (January 1).