Published On : Sat, Jan 16th, 2016

MLA Sudhakar Kohale declared new Nagpur BJP President

Nagpur BJP President Sudhakar kohale (1)
Nagpur: In a surprising move, South Nagpur MLA Sudhakar Vitthalrao Kohale has been declared as the new Nagpur BJP President. Kohale would be replacing existing city president Krishna Khopde.

Party sources claimed that Khopde was having full chances of continuing for the second term as city BJP president but a sudden announcement of Kohale’s name for the post has left his supporters in awe.

Kohale represents Nagpur South Assembly Constituency. He was a corporator in the Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) at the time of election. He then represented the Mhalgi Nagar ward.

In his past political stint, Kohale had defeated sitting MLA Dinanath Padole, of the Nationalist Congress Party and former minister Satish Chaturvedi of the Indian National Congress.

Nagpur BJP President Sudhakar kohale (2)Fifteen opponents including Padole lost their deposit. This victory has been described as one busting caste and religious vote bank politics, and a mandate for development. Kohale also served as a chairman of NMC’s Water Works Committee