Published On : Tue, Jun 20th, 2017

Mayor reviews arrangements for International Yoga Day celebration at Yashwant Stadium


NMC Yoga Day
The Mayor Nanda Jichkar on Tuesday visited Yeshwant Stadium and reviewed arrangements being made for celebration of International Yoga Day on June 21. Nagpur Municipal Corporation is celebrating the Yoga Day at Yashwant Stadium at 5.45 am. Union Minister for Surface Transport and Shipping Nitin Gadkari, Guardian Minister Chandrashekhr Bawankule and a galaxy of other dignitaries will grace the occasion. More than 20,000 citizens are expected to participate in this grand event.

The Mayor was accompanied by Deputy Mayor Deepraj Pardikar, Ruling Party Leader Sandeep Joshi, senior Corporator Sunil Agrawal, Education Committee Chairman Dilip Diwe, Women and Chidren Welfare Committee Chairperson Varsha Thakre, Estate Committee Chairman Sanjay Bangale, Dharampeth Zone Chairperson Rupa Rai, Laxmi Nagar Zone Chairman Prakash Bhoyar, Corporators Pramod Tabhane, Sunil Hiranwar, Pramod Kaurti, Executive Engineer Anirudha Changajkar and others.

The Mayor reviewed arrangements of mobile toilets, parking, dais, mat spread all over the stadium for Yoga participants, and issued directions to officials.

The entry gates:

Thousands of citizens would be gathering at the venue to participate in International Yoga Day celebration. The gates 6, 7, 10 and 11 at the Yeshwant Stadium will be open for general public. Gates 14 and 15 will be for all the Corporators. The Main Gate 1 and 2 are reserved for office-bearers and members of Yogabhyasi Mandal and other Yoga organisations. For VIP and VVIP dignitaries, the Gate No. 12 has been reserved for entry into the stadium.

Apart from Gadkari and Bawankule, other dignitaries participating in the International Yoga Day celebration include Mayor Nanda Jichkar, Rajya Sabha members Ajay Sancheti, Dr Vikas Mahatme, ZP President Neesha Savarkar, MLCs Anil Sole, Nago Ganar, Girish Vyas, Prakash Gajbhiye, Jogendra Kawade, MLAs Sudhakar Kohale, Sudhakar Deshmukh, Krishna Khopde, Vikas Kumbhare, Dr Milind Mane, Ruling Party Leader in NMC Sandeep Joshi, Opposition Leader Tanaji Vanve, Divisional Commissioner Anupkumar, Commissioner of Police Dr K Venkatesham, Municipal Commissioner Ashwin Mudgal, District Collector Sachin Kurve, NIT Chairman Dr Deepak Mhaisekar, ZP CEO Dr Kadambari Balkawde, and other officials.