Published On : Thu, Jul 6th, 2017

Maharashtra extends waiver to farmers who took loans post 2008

Mumbai: The Maharashtra government has expanded the ambit of its loan waiver scheme to include even those farmers who had taken loans after 2008, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis announced on Wednesday.

Earlier, the loan waiver scheme, titled the ‘Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Sanman Yojana’, covered only those farmers who have the loan outstanding between April 1, 2012 and June 30, 2016.

Fadnavis made this announcement during his fortnightly programme ‘Mi Mukhyamantri Boltoy’.

BJP legislators Anil Bonde, Ashish Deshmukh, Sanjay Kute and Prashant Bamb called on the chief minister earlier in the day and demanded that farmers who have taken agriculture loans after March 1, 2008 and before May 31, 2012 be given benefit of the loan waiver scheme announced last month.

The erstwhile Congress-led UPA government under Manmohan Singh had announced an agriculture loan waiver and a debt relief scheme of Rs 71,000 crore for the country in 2008.

That scheme covered cultivators who had an overdue of agriculture loans up to February 29, 2008.

“Fadnavis agreed to the demand raised by the BJP legislators and announced to include those farmers in his loan waiver scheme,” stated a release issued by the Chief Minister’s Office.

The CM also extended the date to repay overdue of loans taken by farmers in the year 2016-17 and who are regular payees from earlier June 30, 2017 to July 31, 2017, the statement said.

In the One Time Settlement scheme, farmers can repay outstanding loan in four instalments. Once they repay three instalments, the government will give the fourth instalment of Rs 1.5 lakh as the loan waiver, he said.