Published On : Mon, Oct 21st, 2019

Maharashtra Assembly Polls Turnout till 11 am: 17.5%

Dr Ashish Deshmukh, Cong Candidate from Nagpur South West who is pitted against CM Devendra Fadnavis

Nagpur: Altogether 17.5 per cent voters exercised their franchise till 11 am in Maharashtra, after polling for the 288 Assembly seats began at 7 am on Monday, officials said. Haryana, on the other hand, recorded a polling percentage of 20.3 per cent till 11 am.

In Mumbai, queues were observed outside several polling stations, indicating the percentage may go up in subsequent hours, the official said. Voting will end at 6 pm.

The Mumbai suburban area, comprising 26 Assembly seats, recorded 5.64 per cent polling in the first two hours, he said. Other urban areas like Pune, Nagpur, Nashik and Aurangabad reported a moderate response, while the turnout in rural areas was on the higher side, he said.

In Haryana, the Congress is hoping to make a comeback following a change in guard in the state, while the BJP led by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar has set a target of winning 75 seats out of 90 in which 1,169 candidates of various political outfits are contesting.

Currently, the BJP has 48 members in state assembly and had won all 10 Lok Sabha seats in the recent election. Prominent amongst those in the contest are Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar (Karnal), former chief minister and Congress Legislative Party leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda (Garhi Sampla-Kiloi), Randeep Singh Surjewala (Kaithal), Kiran Choudhary (Tosham) and Kuldeep Bishnoi (Adampur) and JJP’s Dushyant Chautala (Uchana Kalan).

The BJP has fielded three sportspersons — Babita Phogat (Dadri), Yogeshwar Dutt (Baroda in Sonipat) and Sandeep Singh (Pehowa) — besides TikTok star Sonali Phogat (Adampur). Voting will also be held in bypolls to 51 assembly seats spread across 17 states.