Published On : Sun, May 26th, 2024

KKR thrash SRH to lift third IPL title


In a lop-sided final, Kolkata Knight Riders handed Sunrisers Hyderabad a crushing eight-wicket defeat to pick up their third Indian Premier League title.

After bowling out SRH out for 113 – the lowest-ever total in an IPL final, KKR chased it down with 57-balls to spare to pick up their third IPL title.


Despite losing Sunil Narine early, Kolkata Knight Riders stayed on course for a comfortable win in the IPL final against Sunrisers Hyderabad. With KKR needing just 114 to win, Cummins struck early to remove Narine for just two.

But KKR opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Venkatesh Iyer kept the Kolkata team on course as they scored quickly, bringing up 40 off just 20 for the second wicket.

Iyer and Gurbaz took the SRH bowlers to the cleaners as they posted a mammoth 72/1 in the powerplay.

After restricting the Sunrisers Hyderabad to 113, the lowest ever total in the IPL final, Kolkata Knight Riders looked set to chase it down quickly, with both openers getting off the mark with boundaries.

But SRH skipper Pat Cummins had other plans as he struck in his very first over to remove the dangerous Sunil Narine for just 6 off 2 to reduce KKR to 11/1 in 1.2 overs.

Mitchell Starc justified his eye-popping auction billing with a magical delivery as Kolkata Knight Riders produced a complete bowling performance to dismantle Sunrisers Hyderabad for a paltry 113 in what is turning out to be a lopsided IPL-17 final in Chennai on Sunday.

This is the lowest total by a team batting first in an IPL final as SRH were shot out in 18.3 overs.

It won’t be wrong to say that KKR has one hand on their third IPL title and deservingly so after playing brilliant cricket from start to finish and the one-sided title clash is a testimony to their total domination of Season 17.