Published On : Mon, Jun 15th, 2015

Govind wins CP Club badminton crown

cp-sportsNagpur: Talented shuttler of the city Govind Sahasrabudhe trounced Angad Matharu to win the men’s singles title in the Inter-Club Badminton tournament, organized by the CP Club, at its hall in Civil Lines here recently.

The men’s doubles title was pocketed by Gaurav Rege and Manan Goenka. Ritika Thaker and Mrunmayee Saoji reigned supreme in the women’s doubles, while the pair of Gaurav Rege and Mrunmayee claimed the mixed doubles crown.

On the final day, an exhibition match was held in which Gaurav Rege and Govind Sahasrabudhe defeated Ajay Dayal and Jayendra Dhole in three exciting games.

CP Club also gave a special prize by presenting an “upcoming star award” to Ritika Thaker for representing the country during the Junior Asian Badminton Championship late last year.


Men’s singles: Govind Sahasrabudhe bt Angad Matharu;

Men’s doubles: Gaurav Rege-Manan Goenka bt Naval Chadha-Vidhan Sharma;

Women’s doubles: Ritika Thaker-Mrunmayee Saoji bt Sandhya Rege-Pratibha Kulkarni;

Mixed doubles: Mrunmayee Saoji-Gaurav Rege bt Ritika Thaker-Manan Goenka.