Published On : Mon, Jan 8th, 2018

Gala time: Vidarbha cricket team honoured for Ranji Trophy triumph

Nagpur Today.

It was Friday the January 5, 2016. A gala time. The heroes of Vidarbha cricket team were showered with accolades for triumph in the Ranji Final in Indore. The Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) felicitated the entire team at VCA Stadium, Civil Lines for the crowning glory.

Vidarbha created history by winning the coveted Ranji Trophy by beating the strong Delhi team in the final at Holkar Stadium in Indore. The boys of Captain Faiz Fazal and coach Chandrakant Pandit made Vidarbha proud by their extraordinary feat.

At the felicitation function, the chief guest was International Cricket Council (ICC) Chairman Shashank Manohar. VCA President Anand Jaiswal, Vice-President Prashant Vaidya, Secretary B S Bhatti and other VCA officials graced the occasion by their presence on the dais. And everyone showered accolades on the triumphant members of the Vidarbha cricket team.

In his speech, Manohar said that some of the players may now get IPL contracts but the focus should not just be on IPL, it should also be on a place in the Indian team. “Make your goal big, don’t make feel satisfied yourself in little achievement.”

Coach Chandrakant Pandit also shared various unforgettable moments spent with each and every player. He also added that “I might have behaved rudely during entire period but there was a reason to boost you up and you people proved it that how much you love me.”

Captain Faiz Fazal and wrecker-in-chief Rajneesh Gurbani were the special attractions in the party.

The party was also an event to cherish mouth watering stuff. The guests, VCA members, Coach and Players along with their family enjoyed the dinner.

Varsha Manohar


Anand Jaiswal and Shashank Manohar


Subroto and Swati Banerjee


Shiraz Gimi and Prakash Dixit


Prashant and Chanchal Vaidya


Rajeev Javery and Rahul Dixit


Rashmi and Anshuman Sahasrabhojanee


Ravindrasingh Pardesi


Sandeep Baraskar and Udayan Patil


Dr Milind Mane


Mohini, Chandrakant, Anshul and Akshata Pandit


Gautam Kale, Sameer Meghe and Jamashp Bapuna


Sudhakar Deshmukh and Prakash Dixit

By Farhan Kazi
Pics By Rajesh Bansod