Published On : Thu, Jan 5th, 2017

Fleet of 19 Midi Buses dedicated to Nagpurians

Public transport in the city received a boost as Municipal Commissioner Shravan Hardikar on Thursday (January 5) flagged off a fleet of 19 Midi Buses that will run on city streets in the service of citizens. On December 5, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari and Mayor Pravin Datke had dedicated a fleet of environment-friendly Green and Red buses at a function held at Yeshwant Stadium. Continuing the venture, 19 more Midi Buses were pressed into service with the aim of providing better transport facilities to citizens.

Other dignitaries present on the occasion include Mayor Pravin Datke, Transport Committee Chairman Narendra (Balya) Borkar, and others.

Nagpur got the honour of running pollution free buses for public transport, a first in Maharashtra. The Chief Minister had stated that Nagpur Model could be followed by other Municipal Corporations in State as well as across the country.
Four bus operators have been entrusted the responsibility of running these environment-friendly buses in the city. Facility of special passes to students and senior citizens has been made available for these buses.


At the dedication ceremony, the Administrative Officer Arun Pipurde, Traffic Manager Sudhir Sontakke, Traffic Inspector Ramrao Mankar, Technical Observer Yogesh Lunge, Deputy Engineer A G Bothile and other officials and office-bearers were present.

The buses will run on following routes:
· Sitabuldi to Khaparkheda
· Sitabuldi to Godhni
· Sitabuldi to Dighori (Bahadur Fata)
· Sitabuldi to Kamptee-Kanhan-J N Hospital
· Besa to Gorewada
· Pardi to Jaitala
· Sitabuldi to Sonegaon