Published On : Wed, Mar 15th, 2017

First GBM of NMC post-election on Mar 20

Nagpur: The first General Body Meeting (GBM) of new House of Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) will be held on March 20, 2017 at Mahal-based Town Hall. In the just concluded election of NMC, BJP carved out an unprecedented victory. The party’s 108 candidates emerged winners in 151-member local body. Congress was way behind with 29 wins. BSP’s 10 candidates, Shiv Sena’s 2 and one each of NCP and independent were the other winners.

In the GBM, the BJP is likely to nominate its two Corporators as Trustees of Nagpur Improvement Trust. According to provisions of norms, the Chairman of Standing Committee is automatically the Trustee of NIT for one year. BJP’s Sandeep Jadhav was elected the new chief of Standing Committee and he has assumed office. The announcement of he becoming the NIT Trustee has remained a formality.

One more Corporator of the ruling party would be nominated as NIT Trustee. This time, possibly a Corporator from North or East Nagpur could assume the post. If the post goes to East Nagpur, Corporator from Prabhag 1 Vicky Kukreja, a Fadnavis confidant, could become the NIT Trustee. And if East Nagpur bags the honour, the senior Corporator Chetana Tank could be nominated if the party accords priority to women candidates.

Interestingly, the Municipal Commissioner has so far not presented the revised budget of NMC for the year 2016-17. Mainly due to elections of the local body.

It is being speculated that citizens are in for a heavy dose of increase in Property Tax and Water Tax. In fact, the rate of Property Tax was hiked last year itself. However, due to scheduled election of the local body, the ruling party scuttled the move and provided a relief to the tax payers. However, tough days could be ahead for the citizens as the pending dues could be recovered with penalties along with the last year’s hiked Property Tax dues.

The financial condition of NMC is in dire straits. Despite BJP in power in State and at Centre, the grants to be received on various counts, have come to a standstill. Salaries of employees and bill of contractors are pending.

Other subjects of GBM:

The March 20 GBM is likely to take up formation of Special Committees under Section 30, Transport Committee and its Chairman (possibly Avinash Thakre).

Two Directors (possibly Pravin Datke and Dayashankar Tiwari) could be appointed to Special Purpose Vehicle Board under Smart City Mission.

The 38 Prabhags of NMC have been divided in 10 zones. A proposal on division of various zones on Prabhag basis such as
Zone 1 – Prabhags 16, 36, 37, 38,
Zone 2 – Prabhags 12, 13, 14, 15,
Zone 3 – Prabhags 31, 32, 34, Zone
4 – Prabhags 17, 33, 35,
Zone 5 – Prabhags 27, 28, 29, 30,
Zone 6 – Prabhags 8, 18, 19, 22,
Zone 7 – Prabhags 4, 5, 20, 21,
Zone 8 — Prabhags 23, 24, 25, 26,
Zone 9 — Prabhags 2, 3, 6, 7, and
Zone 10 — Prabhags 1, 9, 10, 11 could be approved.

A proposal to implement revised Fire Services charge in accordance with the provisions of Maharashtra Fire Prevention & Life Safety Measure Act, 2006 could be taken up at the GBM.