Published On : Tue, Jan 10th, 2017

Filmfare Awards on Sale : Outrage on Twitter over Akshay Kumar’s exclusion

As the list of nomination in various categories of Filmfare Awards are out, the fans of Akshay Kumar are apparently fumed over the development. The reason is but abvious – Akshay Kumar has not been nominated in the Best Actor in Leading Role category.

The fans took to Twitter to blow up the Awards and ripped it into pieces with the common comment – ‘Filmfare Awards on Sale’.

Actor Akshay Kumar has been overlooked for a Best Actor nod, despite acclaimed performances in Airlift and Rustom. ‘Filmfare Awards On Sale’ is trending furiously, buoyed by indignant tweets from Akshay’s fan clubs. “No one nominated from Dangal,” huffed at least one angry post – this is not entirely true: both Aamir’s film and Aamir himself have scored nominations although somewhat unfairly Dangal’s supporting cast has been ignored.


No nominations for either the actresses who played the daughters of Aamir’s character in the film nor one for TV star Sakshi Tanwar who was cast as his wife. The Filmfare nominations were revealed last night in Mumbai at a party attended by the likes of Shah Rukh Khan and Sridevi.

Neither the well-reviewed Airlift nor Rustom, considered a lesser film by critics but perhaps not by Akshay’s fans, feature on the list of nominees anywhere. Those up for Best Actor include all three Khans – Aamir for Dangal, Salman for Sultan and Shah Rukh for Fan – Amitabh Bachchan for Pink, Ranbir Kapoor for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil, Shahid Kapoor for Udta Punjab and Sushant Singh Rajput for M S Dhoni: The Untold Story. The movies competing for Best Film are Dangal, Neerja, Pink, Udta Punjab, Kapoor And Sons and Sultan – the inclusion of the last has also annoyed Twitter greatly.

Here’s the full list of nomination is

Best Film

Kapoor And Sons
Udta Punjab

Best Director

Abhishek Chaubey – Udta Punjab
Ali Abbas Zafar – Sultan
Karan Johar – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Nitesh Tiwari – Dangal
Ram Madhvani – Neerja
Shakun Batra – Kapoor & Sons

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Male)

Aamir Khan – Dangal
Amitabh Bachchan – Pink
Ranbir Kapoor – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Salman Khan – Sultan
Shah Rukh Khan – Fan
Shahid Kapoor – Udta Punjab
Sushant Singh Rajput – MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Female) Aishwarya Rai Bachchan – Sarbjit

Alia Bhatt – Dear Zindagi
Alia Bhatt – Udta Punjab
Anushka Sharma – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Sonam Kapoor – Neerja
Vidya Balan – Kahaani 2

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male)

Diljit Dosanjh – Udta Punjab
Fawad Khan – Kapoor And Sons
Jim Sarbh – Neerja
Rajat Kapoor – Kapoor & Sons
Rajkummar Rao – Aligarh
Rishi Kapoor – Kapoor And Sons

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female)

Kareena Kapoor Khan – Udta Punjab
Kirti Kulhari – Pink
Ratna Pathak Shah – Kapoor And Sons
Richa Chadda – Sarbjit
Shabana Azmi – Neerja

Best Music Album

Amaal Mallik, Badshah, Arko, Tanishk Bagchi, Benny Dayal and Nucleya – Kapoor & Sons
Amit Trivedi – Udta Punjab
Meet Bros, Amaal Mallik, Ankit Tiwari & Manj Musik – Baaghi
Pritam – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy – Mirzya
Vishal-Shekhar – Sultan

Best Lyrics

Amitabh Bhattacharya – Channa mereya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Gulzar – Aave re hitchki, Mirzya
Gulzar – Mirzya, Mirzya
Irshad Kamil – Jag ghoomeya, Sultan
Kausar Munir – Love you zindagi, Dear Zindagi
Late Shiv Kumar Batalvi – Ikk kudi, Udta Punjab

Best Playback Singer (Male)

Amit Mishra – Bulleya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Arijit Singh – Ae dil hai mushkil, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Arijit Singh – Channa mereya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Atif Aslam – Tere sang yara, Rustom
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan – Jag ghoomeya, Sultan

Best Playback Singer (Female)

Kanika Kapoor – Da da dasse, Udta Punjab
Jonita Gandhi – Break up song, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
Neeti Mohan – Sau aasman, Baar Baar Dekho
Neha Bhasin – Jag ghoomeya, Sultan
Palak Mucchal – Kaun Tujhe, MS Dhoni: The Untold Story
Qurat-ul-Ain Balouch – Kari kari, Pink.