Published On : Mon, Jul 30th, 2018

Dr B K Upadhyay appointed new CP of Nagpur

NAGPUR: Dr Bhushan Kumar Upadhyay has been appointed as the new Commissioner of Police (CP) of Nagpur. The State’s Home Ministry issued an order signed by Upper Secretary Kailas Gaikwad to this effect on Monday. Upadhyay will replace Dr K Venkatesham, who has been transferred as CP of Pune.

Dr B K Upadhyay is an IPS officer of 1989 batch. He has served as ASP of Pandharpur, Addl SP of Osmanabad and Akola, SP of Latur, Chandrapur, Jalgaon, Nagpur Rural, DCP of Traffic Nagpur City, DIG Prisons Nagpur, Addl CP (Crime) of Nagpur City, CP Solapur, IGP (Estt), DGP Office, Mumbai, Joint CP (Traffic), Mumbai, Principal Secretary (Home), Mantralaya and ADG (Prisons).

Upadhyay is a recipient of Police Medal, President’s Medal, Special Service Medal, Khadtar Service Medal, and DGP’s Insignia. He has penned three books — Mind Management, The Great Mind Managers of the World, Mahabhashya Aur Dhwani Vichar —and is also a recipient of Maharashtra Urdu Academy Award. Dr Upadhyay is also a doctorate in Sanskrit.