Published On : Fri, Aug 12th, 2016

DPC to spend Rs 350 crore for various development works in district

Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule
The Guardian Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule, presiding over the meeting of District Planning Committee (DPC), said that the State Government has made a provision of Rs 350 crore for planning of development works in Nagpur District. “Last year the budget plan size of DPC was Rs 250 crore that has been hiked to Rs 350 crore this year. If the funds of schemes meant for scheduled caste, adivasis, OTSP scheme are added to the budget plan, it amounts to Rs 530 crore budget plan of the DPC for this year. The proposals for development works to be undertaken by different departments have been received by the DPC. But still those departments who have not sent their proposals could do so before August 15,” Bawankule said.

“The District Collector will issue work orders on August 20. Since elections to NMC and Zilla Parishad are to be conducted in this financial year, it will have to be ensured that most of the development works are undertaken before the enforcement of Code of Conduct. The tendering process will be completed before the Code of Conduct comes under force. The beneficiaries of Gharkul Yojana selected on the basis of social economical survey would be provided the benefit on August 15. Those who have been left out of the survey will be included in the scheme after approval from Taluka or District Committee,” Bawankule said.

The minister further said that establishing of anganwadi, construction of Gram Panchayat Bhavan, ZP School, and crematorium has been planned in those villages having population over 5000. Such villages would also be available of Rs 50,000 each for environment conservation. Apart from these schemes, construction of RO plants in the 1800 villages has been approved by the DPC for supply of pure drinking water. The responsibility of running these RO plants will be given to Mahila Bachat Groups who will make available the pure drinking water at a reasonable rate.

“Many major works and ambitious projects will be undertaken by the local body and NIT for the development of the city,” Bawankule said.

Others who attended the DPC meeting include ZP President Neesha Savarkar, MLAs Sudhkar Deshmukh, Sunil Kedar, Sudhir Parve, Sudhakar Kohale, D Mallikarjun Reddy, Vikas Kumbhare, Krishna Khopde, Dr Milind Mane, Sameer Meghe, Ashish Deshmukh, MLCs Jogendra Kawade, Prakash Gajbhiye, Girish Vyas, Nago Ganar, Mayor Pravin Datke, DPC members Dr Madhukar Kimmatkar, Dr Ashish Jayaswal, Ramesh Mankar, Anand Raut, District Collector Sachin Kurve, ZP CEO Kadambari Bhagat, DSP Anant Rokde, and other officials.