Published On : Sat, Aug 19th, 2017

Crime Branch raids mobile shop, busts fake currency racket, 5 arrested


File Pic

Nagpur: Acting on secret inputs, the Crime Branch Unit 2 of city police raided a mobile shop in Gittikhadan area and busted a fake currency racket. The raiding cops have seized bogus currency with face value of Rs 6000 and electronic equipment including colour printer, scanner and computers being used for printing the fake currency notes. Five accused have so far been arrested in this connection.

The Crime Branch Unit 2 sleuths had on August 17 received a tip off that some persons were printing fake currency notes of Rs 500 and Rs 2000 denomination at a mobile shop named Mobile Planet situated near Chopde Lawn, Awasthi Nagar Square and circulating the currency in markets. Acting swiftly, the sleuths raided the mobile shop and found three persons in possession of bogus currency notes in the denomination of Rs 500 and Rs 2000 having face value of Rs 6000 as well as colour printer, scanner and computer parts being used for printing the fake notes. Bogus Aadhar cards were also found in the mobile shop.

The three persons named Mohd Ikrar Mohd Yusuf (30), a resident of Plot No. 20, New Gandhi Layout, Mankapur; Mohd Jisan Mohd Nisar (22), a resident of Plot No. 1, Rohini Housing Society, Dutt Nagar and Abdul Rajiq Abdul Jabbar (40), a resident of Plot No. 20, New Gandhi Layout, Mankapur. Two more accused named Ashish Arun Sathe (36) of Plot No. 98(B), Gandhi Layout, Mankapur and Shoeb Sayeed Khan (36), resident of Bhaldarpura have been arrested. The five accused were booked under Sections 420, 489 (A) (B) (C) (D) (E), 465, 468, 471, 120(B) of the IPC. Of the five accused, Mohd Ikrar Mohd Yusuf, Mohd Jisan Mohd Nisar and Abdul Rajiq Abdul Jabbar were produced in a court which remanded them to police custody till August 23.

The raid and arrest were made by a team of Crime Branch Unit 2 comprising Police Inspector Bharat Kshirsagar, APIs Jitendra Bobde, Sachin Lule, PSIs Rajkumar Tripathi, Datta Pendkar, constables Mohan Shahu, Santosh Thakur, Meshram, NPC Rajkumar Deshmukh, sepoys Yogesh Gupta, Shyam Gorle, Sayyed Wahid, drivers constables Tayde, Vijay Lekurwale under the guidance of Commissioner of Police Dr K Venkatesham, Joint CP Shivaji Bodkhe, DCP (Detection) Sambhaji Kadam and ACP (Crime) Somnath Waghchaure.