Published On : Fri, Apr 8th, 2016

Crime branch nabs wicked vehicle thief

vehicle thief
: As they rightly say that criminals cannot escape the long arm of the law. Criminals can escape law only for a brief spell before which they are nabbed. In a similar incident, the Crime Branch of Nagpur Police succeeded in nabbing a wicked and clever vehicle thief based on a secret tip off on April 4, 2016.

Acting on the directions of the senior police officials to intensify the patrolling, nab all wanted accused and to keep a tab on missing or stolen vehicles, the cops of Crime Branch were patrolling the streets.

The cops of Crime Branch managed to arrest an ill-famous and wicked vehicle thief based on a secret tip off, on April 5, 2016. On intense questioning, the thief confessed to have stolen many two-wheelers from different parts of the city. This intense questioning revealed that there are three case of motorcycle theft lodged in Ranapratap Nagar Police Station. There was an additional case of burglary in Khaperkheda area which the vehicle-thief had managed to commit.

The vehicle thief is identified as Akash Prakash Uikey aged 24 years and a resident of Gedam Layout, Hingna Road. The Crime Branch personnel also managed to seize or recover three stolen motorcycles including

  1. Yamaha Motorcycle bearing RTO No MH-32/ AB-2517 stolen from Rana Pratap Nagar on December 4, 2015
  2. Honda Activa Scooterette bearing RTO No MH-31/ BY-2305 stolen from Rana Pratap Nagar on November 14, 2015
  3. Honda Deo Scooterette bearing  RTO No MH-31/ BD-3986 stolen from Rana Pratap Nagar on January 9, 2016.
  4. Computer Monitor (from burglary in Khaparkheda) on February 9, 2016.
  5. Gas Cylinder (from burglary in Khaparkheda) on February 9, 2016.

In all the recovered goods amount to a total of Rs one lakh twenty thousand.

The accused Akash Prakash Uikey is said to be absconding from Ambazhari police in the case of vehicle theft.

The above action was successfully carried out by the staff of Crime Branch under the leadership of Police Inspector R C Patil, Assistant Police Inspector Gokul Suryavanshi, Head Constable Rajesh Thakur, Head Constable Dharmendra Sarode, HC Rajesh Kshirsagar, Naik Police Constable Arun Dharme, Naik Police Constable Daya Bisandre, NPC Rakesh Yadav, Police Constable Satyendra Yadav and Police Constable Badal Mandre  under the directions of Deputy Commissioner of Police Ranjan Kumar Sharma.