Cops secure 162 sensitive polling centres with adequate bandobast

Police protection while voting

Representational Pic


Nagpur: The 162 sensitive polling centres identified by the State Election Commission (SEC) are housed in 54 buildings spread across jurisdictions of eight police stations as sensitive ones. These sensitive polling centres would be under close vigil of police force. Necessary police bandobast has been made for the NMC polling on February 21.
The break-up of 162 sensitive polling centres in eight police stations is as follows: 7 in Mankapur, 8 in Gittikhadan, 12 in Dhantoli, 12 in Ambazari, 19 in Ganeshpeth, 48 in Tehsil, 25 in Lakadganj and 31 in Yashodharanagar.

A total of 108 policemen would be deployed at the 54 buildings having the 162 sensitive polling centres. One policeman each from respective police stations and one armed cop from Police Headquarters would be deployed at the sensitive placers. In Mankapur police jurisdiction, there are two buildings with seven sensitive polling centres.

Similarly, two buildings in Gittikhadan have eight troublesome polling stations. Dhantoli’s 3 buildings have 12 sensitive polling booths, Ambazari has 12 sensitive booths in three buildings, Ganeshpeth 19 in nine buildings, 48 sensitive polling centres in 17 buildings in Tehsil Police Station jurisdiction. Lakadganj’s 11 buildings have 25 sensitive booths and 31 sensitive polling centres in 7 buildings in Yashodharanagar Police Station jurisdiction.

Keeping in mind the sensitive status of abovementioned 162 polling centres spread across 54 buildings, police have made adequate bandobast to ensure the polling passes off without any untoward incident.

The voting for the February 21 NMC poll will commence from 7.30 am till 5.30 pm. Counting of votes will take place on February 23 in 12 zones simultaneously.