Published On : Mon, May 7th, 2018

Constitution Bench of Supreme Court to hear petition on impeachmentof CJI Dipak Misra


New Delhi: The petition filed in Supreme Court challenging the decision of Rajya Sabha Chairperson Venkaiah Naidu to reject the notice of motion for removal of Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra, will be heard by a Constitution Bench of Justices SA Bobde, AK Sikri, NV Ramana, Arun Mishra and AK Goel.

This sudden development comes after the matter was mentioned today before Justice Jasti Chelameswar. The petitioners, Partap Singh Bajwa and Amee Yajnik, who are Members of Parliament, had not mentioned the matter before the CJI since the case is against him.

When it was mentioned by Senior Advocate Kapil Sibal and advocate Prashant Bhushan in court 2, Justice Chelameswar had asked the petitioners to “come back tomorrow”.

It is not clear as to who has constituted the Bench since the CJI, though the Master of Roster, is directly interested in the matter.