Published On : Mon, Jan 9th, 2017

Cong’s Shahjahan wins Kamptee NP President’s post

Kamptee Nagar Parishad
Shahjahan Shafat of Congress on Monday was elected President of Kamptee Nagar Parishad, the largest Nagar Parishad in Nagpur District. In the civic body poll held on Sunday, the Congress has regained power. Shahjahan defeated his rival, BJP-BREM alliance candidate Ajay Kadam by 2429 votes.

Ata time, the Congress candidate was leading by over 5000 votes but as the counting progress, the margin got reduced dramatically. Shahjahan polled 16690 votes while Kadam got 14261. In the battle of seats, out of total 32 seats, Congress bagged 16, BJP 8, BREM 2, and one each by Shiv Sena, Bharip, BSP. Interestingly, Asmuddin Owaisis’ MIM opened its account by winning one seat.

Bawankule’s prestige gets a jolt:
Kamptee MLA and State Energy Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule , who is Guardian Minister of Nagpur District, was left red-faced in this prestigious election. On insistence of Bawankule, the local BJP leadership was sidelined and an alliance with Adv Sulekha Kumbhare’s party was worked out for the Kamptee Nagar Parishad election. The strategy seems to have boomeranged.